Surprise or Promise, Which do you prefer - 05/06/2024

in Steem Cameroon26 days ago

Hello my Steemit friends! Best wishes in the week ahead, and I want to appreciate the organizer of this contest. I am from central part of Nigeria in West Africa. Thank you @chant for the contest.

expression-909044_1280.jpg
Source

Have you ever been surprised or promised before? Share what or how it looks like.

Yes, l have promised before, but my heart broke off for not actualizing the promise. A reason was responsible for it.

When I was preparing for my final secondary school examination, I met with one of the senior military ranking officers. Some Nigerian army came for their exercise for some months close to my school.

I was a member of Man 'O' War. One evening an officer visited our school and very fortunate we were having our usual Man ’O' War exercise and he came close and inspected the exercise.

My structure and my dressed during the exercise according to him impressed him. He asked whether I would like to join the force and because I have an interest in it, I admitted and promised me that unless otherwise, he would facilitate my admission into the army cadet school.

How was your reaction to the surprise or promise? Expatiate

One, I was always thinking and happy about the promise and tried never to have any issues with anybody. I was always humble and respect my elders and other in the community too.

tablet-5438607_1280.jpg
Source

Also, I put more effort into my studies to make sure I make the required paper qualification to enable me to be enrolled.

I was also making more efforts in the Man ’O' War exercise to enable me to be accustomed to some of the military exercises so that even if I was enrolled, I would find some of their exercise more familiar.

I was also careful not to have any fractures or dislocations whenever I was playing football or any other exercise.

Have you ever surprised or Promise someone? Explain.

Yes, I did promise someone before.
Someone who we knew each other but never shared any ideas in common before ever asked me for an assistant, which was painful to me, but I fulfilled it.

He asked me for some sum of money to help register his child who secured admission into the university, I promised him because at the time I did not have that which he requested.

In fact, prior to the date, I promised him I couldn't find it. To keep my promised I went into borrowing just to fulfill my promised and also not to break his heart.

I was able to meet up with my promised and I was excited and the man too was happy.

Describe a scenario you were promised and it failed.

The promise by the army officer to assist me enroll in the Nigerian academy failed because I lost contact with the officer.

monkey-4839012_1280.jpg
Source

Prior to the release of my final exam result, I lost contact with him because I misplaced my smartphone, and I couldn't have his line anywhere.

All efforts to reach him failed. I even went to the barrack where he was serving, I was told he went for some courses in overseas country . That's how I missed my dream.

Do you believe in the statement “a promise is a debt”? Expatiate.

Yes,I do believe that "a promise is a debt”
There is an adage in my native language that said ”A pomsed is a heavy load on the shoulder of the promisor.

The person being promised will have all hope and have total reliance on the promisor. So, when it's failed, the promisee's heart will break.

And as a rational human being unless otherwise, a promisor should not fail in his promied.Failing the promise will relegate the promisor's prestige.

This is my story for the week and I would like to invite @vickyson @josepha and @dave-hanny to join the contest.

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62579.62
ETH 3455.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53