"Body shaming"

in Steem Cameroonlast year

Hello everyone, how are you all doing today? It's a great day, and I'm here to take part in this awful contest that is all about body shaming. I'm so glad to be able to take part this, and I appreciate @chant for creating such a fantastic contest you are doing a fantastic job.

What do you know about body shaming?

body-gb75183152_1280.png
Pixabay

Body shaming, as I actually understand it, is the act of making someone feel inferior by making inappropriate or disparaging remarks about their physical characteristics.

Judging or comparing your appearance to someone else's, as so many people do all the time, and criticizing it.

Have ever been in a situation where you feel upset about your body?

Since I was born, I have honestly never been in a position where I felt horrible about my appearance. I have an appealing figure shape that I genuinely enjoy, and I have never once regretted or felt bad about it.

Do you think body shaming is harmful?

fat-gd269332e6_1280.png
Pixabay

Yes, body shaming is harmful because it can produce new symptoms of depression and anxiety or exacerbate pre-existing ones. It can also cause you to separate yourself from other people and feel depressed and alone.

And again, body shaming is particularly destructive since it has a detrimental effect on self-esteem, promotes prejudice, and is associated with lower self-esteem.

What advice will you give to both victims and perpetrators of body shaming?

My advice to victims is to seek out others for assistance and counsel and let them know what you have been going through. I know it's important to find someone you trust and feel comfortable sharing your feelings with, but having a safe outlet for emotion expression can help you cope with the sadness and embarrassment of being criticized for your body. Always be sincere because being sincere is your own super power, and sincerity comes from intense and continuous self-study and reflection.

advice-gd9d039ce3_1280.png
Pixabay

Then, my advice to perpetrators who engage in body shaming is to demonstrate love and understanding, as well as to educate oneself on body positivity. Your empathy and understanding can be really helpful if a friend or loved one is experiencing body shaming from others. Make sure they understand how much you value and care for them. You can add, "I feel concerned that you constantly discuss your weight," or "I feel sadness when you speak poorly of your looks."

I'm inviting @josepha @ebeke and @aghafavour to take part in this contest.

Thanks for reading my post.

Sort:  
 last year 

Thank you for participating in the contest. However, your entry is considered invalid because you did not respect the deadline for posting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55851.69
ETH 2536.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23