STEEMIT ENGAGEMENT CHALLENGE- WHY IT IS A GREAT INITIATIVE BY THE STEEMIT TEAM( 25% Beneficiary set to @null)

in Steem Cameroon2 years ago (edited)


8778dc643a261eb6d9328e5a1c32fb7d.jpg

Source"

Today I will love to talk a little bit about the hot topic on Steemit now. And you have guessed right, it's no other than the STEEMIT ENGAGEMENT CHALLENGE. The Steemit Engagement challenge is an initiative by the @steemitblog in an effort to promote interaction between steemians.

For the challenge, steemians are supposed to partake in a contest launched by selected communities. There are 7 communities in total and these communities launch a contest every week, and each steemian is able to participate in just one contest a day. That makes 7 contest in 7 days.

Now, I did notice that Cameroonians are very absent in the Steemit Engagement challenge. I am sure as at the time of this post not more than 15 Cameroonians actively participate in the contest. And this is Cameroon the smallest country that have steemians participating in the challenge.

I will love to talk about some of the benefits of the Steemit Engagement challenge.

1- Received high Upvotes.

One of the biggest benefits of the Steemit Engagement challenge is that by participating in it, steemians stand the chance of receiving huge upvotes from the SC01 and SC02. If I am honest, I will outrightly tell you that it has never been easy to stand a chance to get huge upvotes from the curators than this.

Also some communities give great topics for their contest. Topics that attract Steemcurator03 upward. This is great because there are days on a normal, that it becomes difficult to think of an idea to write and gain upvotes but with these topics, we are given an idea to write on.

I do remember back then when I joined the platform. That was about a year ago, It was pretty difficult to get upvotes. I will post for 2 full months and can't even account for up to 1SBD on all these posts. It was really tedious. But that is not the case now, so I will highly recommend that we all participate in it

2- Great opportunity for newbies.

As I earlier mentioned, when I joined Steemit it was difficult to gain upvotes. I had to look for ideas, communities and possibilities that I could do to get upvotes. Then I stormed into the Steemit CryptoAcademy community and I knew it was a great opportunity. But then it had some entry rules. You were supposed to have a minimum Reputation and Steem Power. So I had to work extra hard to build on this.

But these are not a requirement for steemians now. You have the possibility of participating in the challenge even if you are just 1 day old into Steemit. All you need is a club status.

3- Networking.

I can remember in a post I wrote some months back about how to grow on Steemit, I did mention networking. It's by interacting with other steemians that we increase our possibility of growing on the platform. The engagement challenge is a very great opportunity for steemians to network. By having to comment on other steemians post, we get to know more about others and great friendship.

However, there is nothing good that doesn't have a disadvantage. Let me get into the only disadvantage that I know about.

1- Upvotes are not Guaranteed.

One of the biggest hindrance to the Steemit Engagement challenge is the fact that upvotes are not guaranteed. I have encourage about 4 steemians to take part in the challenge and after just two weeks, they stop completely from participating in the challenge.

Some steemians believe that engaging in the Steemit Engagement challenge is a whole lot of work for little or no rewards. They believe they rules of each contest becomes so tedious and it is therefore time consuming to do a post and after that there is no possibility for Upvotes.

On other occasions, to get a good grading, one has to set a percentage beneficiary to the community. Now what happens is that, these steemians might not win the contest or receive a meaningful upvotes on their post through out the week. So at the end of the day it's relatively a lost on their side. Understandably, I personally share this experience. I have posted for 2 weeks and more without receiving upvotes from the curators and still setting a beneficiary.

My only advice and proposal is that we try and see into it that the rules for each contest are flexible and also that the topics given are related to the ones that attract Steem curator03 upward.

CONCLUSION

I will love to conclude by saying that the Steemit Engagement challenge is one of the most amazing thing to happen to this platform. It gives the opportunity for growth and is good for anyone who wants to see a fast growth on the platform. I do know it's tedious and hard to not get upvotes but on Steemit upvotes are never guaranteed. So if you don't participate it is a lose lose for you and our community.

I am by this post calling and encouraging Steemians from Cameroon to take part in this challenge as much as possible

The above points are my honest opinion about the Steemit Engagement challenge. There are up for review and criticism.

Thank you for reading.
Yours sincerely
@ebuahsang1

CC.
@chiabertrand
@majerius
@patjewell
@starrchis
@chant

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Thank you for sharing your views on the engagement challenges with us.
I agree, it not only gives us ideas on what to write about but it is absolutely fantastic to built your friend base.
I got to know so many Steemians from all over the world.
Thank you for sharing with us.

I keep my fingers cross that not only will Cameroon but also South Africa be more active next time round.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63891.49
ETH 2753.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66