My Role Model Contest by @ebuahsang1 Season 3

in Steem Cameroon3 years ago


84a2db8d2f462fbb39ac45f6591b3a12.jpg>

Image
Source

Good evening lovely Steemians and Steem greetings from me. It is another edition and time for me to talk about one of the many people that have inspired me with their previous or present actions and I look up on them as my role models.

The person I want to talk about today I only successfully heard about his stories, I wasn't privileged to be alive during the period of his life, but his story has impacted my life till this date. He is no other person than Mahatma Gandhi.

Who is Mahatma Gandhi and why is he my role model

I love this man so much that in my Achievement 4 task, I wrote about him. Here is the link. Achievement 4 task by @ebuahsang1 : Applying Markdowns"

So today I am here to reiterate the fact this is one of the persons I have read about and I look up to. So who is Mahatma Gandhi.

Mahatma Gandhi also called the Father of India was born in 1869 in India. His real and birth name was Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi. Yeah I know you will be asking then where did the name Mahatma Gandhi come from?
The name MAHATMA l was given to him by the people of India due to his spirituality. Mahatma means Great Soul.

I also mentioned above that he was refered to as the Father of India. This was because of his efforts in organizing the people of India in a peaceful and nonviolent protest against their then colonial masters Britain for a free and independent India.

Mahatma Gandhi was born by a Middle class merchant family In India. At the age of 13 he was forced into marriage through an arrange marriage by his family. Mahatma Gandhi studied law in South Africa and witness the Apartheid first hand. This was one of his revolutionary experience that made him finally become a humanitarian/Freedom fighter.

Things that made Mahatma Gandhi unique


58393ccfdf2d175b47a84fbb30350f61.jpg

Pinterest"

  1. He organized a peaceful protest against Britain's rule in both South Africa and India. He was a man that had his believes deeply rooted in peace ☮️. He used fasting, peaceful walks and dialogue as a means to achieve his political aims. I wish to be like him someday.

  2. Never wore shoes. Mahatma around the age of 45 years decided to live a peasant life and identify with peasant workers and farmers on India. He never wore shoes, never wore any fabricated clothes from Britain. He mostly wore knitted hand made clothes. This is a simple life I love to emulate.

  3. Very forgiven man. He wanted the whole of India not to separate after decolonization and was willing to forgive the Muslim for violence against the Hindu indians. But it was not possible, this was actually the act that led to his assassination by his own people. They were angry that he was still willing to forgive and work with Muslims that killed so many of their people and so plotted to kill him. I watched the video of one of the assassin's in prison and he says he doesn't regret his actions.

The life of Mahatma Gandhi was truly an iconic one. His simplicity, Hardwork, principles, love for mankind and his Nation, forgiven nature and a developer. How can I not love to be like him some day.

I only fear I won't be able to walk bear feet like him. No me ohh. Not in this Bamenda with stones everywhere.

Thank you for reading through and another thanks to @saxopedia for yet another role model Contest for me to recollect who I want to be

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

This post has been rewarded by @saxopedia from Steem Cameroon Community Account with support from the Steem Team."

Keep posting good content and follow @steem-cameroon for more updates. Keep on steeming as well as improving your content to get more attention.
Thank you, Steem Cameroon Team!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73