The Diary Game. Unending Season 03 09/10/2021. Rest In Peace Uncle.

in Steem Cameroon3 years ago

Hello esteemed bloggers and welcome to my first diary of the month of October. I would like to wish you all a happy new month. And I pray for good news to reach you at your various corners. Amen.

MORNING

It was a different routine today because I did not wakeup from bed this morning. I stepped down from a bus.😅😅 Yeap I was traveling all night. Men was it tiring! I had come for my uncle's funeral he died sometime in September a week to the very long lockdown so the funeral was postponed. I arrived Limbe at about 4am

Upon my arrival, I had to rush home so I get some sleep before 6am since it was going to be a long day. My sister and I headed home and all my efforts to sleep were futile. Only noise. All of my extended family members were there and none let me sleep. 😣

I managed to follow my sister to her in law's place so we could take a bath since the house was already crowded. After that I felt stronger. Rain kept on falling preventing us from leaving. When it had reduced a little, we came back to the main house. They'd returned from the morgue with the body and lain in-state already so they were taking it to the church.

IMG_20211009_114019_381.jpg
I followed to the church and I was told I would take the readings. It was sure a surprise but.. what else would I do? I needed to get it done.

IMG_20211009_122740_479.jpg

The gospel was on the story of how Jesus' friend Lazarus died and he went 4 days after. His sisters were not particularly happy with Jesus since they'd hoped he would come earlier to save their brother. But Jesus he still made a miracle.
What I learnt was the number of days Jesus stayed before showing up and he still remedied the situation. This taught me that it is NEVER too late for Jesus. Even in death. Let me end here before I begin a sermon session 😅😅😅

A few minutes to the end of the service,my sister and I left to the compound to get ourselves ready for the burial. We met with her in-laws and they carried us to the cemetery. The road was extremely slippery and muddy but we had to go.

IMG_20211009_141941_773.jpg
That's how bad it was

Cars could not even go up. The body was taken out of the ambulance and held up on shoulders by some strong men. We followed till where the grave had been dug.

IMG_20211009_144341_218.jpg

Uncle being put to rest😢. It was a very painful sight realising that I had seen him three years ago and the next time I was seeing him was a farewell. Yes I cried. Not much😅. I had to console my causin's and stay strong for them.
After the burial, we came back to the compound and started serving. It was still rainy but we needed to serve all the way.

IMG_20211009_155117_865.jpg
Group people. Playing traditional instruments. The music from those instruments are magical. So refined you would think it's from a modern something. After that was time for the masquerades to dance. It was fun seeing them.

IMG_20211009_172945_257.jpg
Seeing these dances gave the nostalgic feeling. I remembered when I was growing up and I used to be so scared of masquerades my brother would put me up on his neck to watch them dance. The villages have now turned to something else one cannot go there anymore without running the risk of being kidnapped or shot. Life🤦.

After the dance, mourners started departing so we had to take out the appreciation plates and share them.

It was a very tiring day for us all who worked to see it go through. Thank God it was a success. By evening I took my bath and found my way to one of the sitting chairs and slept. Oh! I had not eaten but I was not hungry so I just closed my eyes and.. boom!

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

May his soul continue resting in perfect peace.

You! Tried to sleep? I think we should throw up a party for that. Quite unfortunate you didn't get the sleep as you wanted.

We thank God for God! Jesus indeed was the greatest miracle worker. That miracle remains one of the best for me.

Masquerade dancing always made me laugh when I was little, but there's this one day they danced and i was so scared i cried all night 😂

I'm happy you had a great night afterwards, i love it when you rest. It relieves.

 3 years ago 

HAhahaha we really need to throw a party. Thank you so much mighty man

 3 years ago 

My condolences to you and your family for the death of your uncle. It must have been a painful thing to go through... the burial.

You are very right! I have not gone to our village for close to 4 years now all because of fear of being kidnapped or something. And I was one person who loved to go to the village😁

 3 years ago (edited)

My condolences @craxywriter
May him soul rest in peace 😔🙏

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much

 3 years ago 

Those roads dear God! It’s a miracle someone did not slip and fall. So sorry for your loss. May eternal be granted unto your uncle🙏🏾

 3 years ago 

The roads seemed like a trap😂😂😂. Amen. Amen thank you

 3 years ago 

My condolences

 3 years ago 

Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63760.92
ETH 2737.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60