CREATIVE WRITING CONTEST. Essay: THE DAY EVERYTHING WENT WRONG.

in Steem Cameroon3 years ago (edited)

I had slept the previous night pretty late and I had some funny frightful dreams and this caused me to wake up late from bed. Wondering the kind of dream I had, on leaving the bed and stepping down, I stepped on a hot coal which my grandmother and kept before leaving the house. (You know how village house settings are). I tipped with one toe in pains and I pushed the only bucket of water remaining at home. I had to rush to get more water. . .

I took the bucket, and went to the stream. Other children had contaminated the water so I had to wait for it to settle in. I was running late already. A few minutes on, the water had settled so I carried. On climbing from the spring, I slid and fell back inside soaking my dress and dirtying the water. I had to wait again for it to settle. God I was late! It did settle and I carried. This time I climbed being more careful. As I walked, I felt my bucket lighter than before. On putting it down I realised it was slightly broken and the water had drained out. What else could I do?

I hurriedly went home and took a different bucket, went down again and carried the water. When I got home I was extremely late. I hurriedly took my bath, bade my grand mother farewell and headed to school. The leg I had burnt earlier was swollen so I could not walk any faster. Arriving school, the first period had been going on for about 25 minutes. The discipline master caught me as I was trying to sneak in. He told me to kneel and I did. I knelt till break time and I was asked to go to class.

After break we had a maths class. I had not done my homework and I did not even know. Only when the teacher entered and asked for the assignment that's when I remembered I had not done mine. I and others were asked to go and kneel before the class... again. We kneeled throughout the whole class. After that we had two other classes and then school ended for that day. And I headed home. I could not walk fast. My friends realised I had been awfully quite the whole time. Wondering why, they asked and I could not even find a suitable answer. Was I cursed? Bewitched? Or was it just that day? Well I had no idea but it was not a working well for me.

I got home tired and really worn out. I was extremely hungry too. I went into the house and saw my dish. My grand mother had put my food inside and covered. I was already salivating when I opened I discovered that the cat had eaten more than half of the food. Feeling frustrated and heartbroken, I remembered everything that had happened to me the whole day. From burning my leg to going late to school without eating to kneeling for long hours with a swollen leg. I sat down and started crying. I wondered what day it had been for me. It was indeed the day everything went wrong.

By Nubia Nahbila.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Nice post, some days like that, keep it up.

 3 years ago 

Hmm is that how some people have dark stories? Chaiii. everything really went wrong

 3 years ago 

If you are not told you can never know. People do have dark sides indeed.
#twopercent
#cameroon

 3 years ago 

Hi @craxywriter ...i took time read every word in this sad but interesting story just wondering how it was going to end...Well it was quite sad but u know they say what does not kill u makes u stronger..Today you are stronger than before i guess?..I really understand the village setting and i was picturing myself in your story..Beautiful flash back and this could make up a beautiful story for a village movie...keep up !

 3 years ago 

@breeze.com hahahaha But it's not a flashback. It's just a story I made up.
Thank you for enjoying my write-up.
#twopercent
#affable
#cameroon

 3 years ago 

You r most welcomed

 3 years ago 

Your day was really a pity full day
At times things happen like that but what can we do we just need to live and go through it bc that's just part of life.
That food part was really funny. I will just raost the cat and eat as food i hate nonsense
Ashia hope your leg gets better soon

 3 years ago 

@noelamontana your post stimulated me to react hahaha 😂. You will roast the cat and eat eeeh? What do you thing of grandma's reactions when she comes back? Another wahala no be so? 😂. I dong die laugh today chaiiii.
#twopercent #cameroon

 3 years ago 

Me and grandma will arrange it when she comes😜😜

 3 years ago 

Hahaha. The lady in the story does not eat cats. Haha. But if it were me I will definitely roast and eat the cat as well.
I'm glad you liked it.

 3 years ago 

Creative writing is really your thing. I virtually felt myself in the scene as pictures kept flying through my mind. Great write up there!!!
#affable #twopercent #cameroon

 3 years ago 

@majerius I am actually blushing now. Thank you for your remark. .more engaging write-ups coming your way.
#twopercent
#affable
#cameroon

 3 years ago 

Hahaha send me a pict of you blushing let me see

Everything really went wrong on that day. Nice composition. 👍

 3 years ago 
 3 years ago 

Ohh God 🤦. indeed your day was really terrible that day.hope everything was okay by the next day

Oh my goodness! It was really a day everything went wrong but you got to keep pushing. The harder you push, the better it becomes. Beautiful story. Well done, girl.

I sure do hope this is a fiction though cause it sounds like a really terrible day and I can't imagine someone going through it all.

 3 years ago 

Hhhmmmmm @craxywriter, this is a good one here. Actually reading this article made me think of my childhood days with all the negative things that will happen especially going to school hungry and kneeling down for not doing an assignment. It was so painful.

Sorry the cat interfered with your day too. If I were the one I would have killed it with no hesitation. Thanks for sharing this piece with us
#twopercent #cameroon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59