Stemm Cameroon poetry contest season 7: Courtship

in Steem Cameroon2 years ago (edited)

IMG-20220409-WA0041.jpg photo by petit 4 quarter

Courtship to me is the final battle to determine who you will spend the rest of your life with.

Courtship as it is

I was lonely, sited at the corner of the jam club
When behold a guy approached me with his head like a bulb
Tall and charming as he was, I loved the scent of his cologne
Then he said to me: Hi pretty I’m Lawrence, why you so alone
I responded like any girl would; please leave me alone
Barman! I called; pour me some liquor so I could drown my soul
Put that on my tab he said, i looked at him and smiled saying;
This night will be pretty much a long one.
We chatted for a while, and became friends. The journey of friendship continued till we started dating about two weeks later.
Truly we had a lot in common but our relationship was characterised by;

Lots of love and war, peace and exchange of bitterness, lots of silly break-ups and comebacks. All because despite those moments, we were willing to amend and move on for no one made happy like Lawrence did.


One lovely evening out with friends came in Lawrence with a romantic gesture of getting the attention of everyone at the bar A bended posture with one knee facing the ground was how he asked me to marry him. For a moment I felt like happier than I’ve ever been, so yes was my response. That was the beginning of our courtship. I thought courtship would be a bed of roses but…

As days went by, it was quite uneasy for me as;
How easy I got jealous whenever a lady hugs him, how pissed I get when I send a dozen messages but he replies so late.
All I think of its how another woman might be succeeding in taking him away.


I think of the many suitors I turned down just for him. To think we are not yet married and I’m already going through all this stress of keeping my man.

That moment he took me to his parents changed it all, even though his mother felt like he could go for someone better or how his sisters stared at me with anger of their brother not courting any of their very beautiful friends whom they had introduced.

This was the realest battles I faced and despite this I was willing to marry and move forward. That was when I realised that, courtship truly is the final battle to determine who you will spend the rest of your life with.
I call on the following to join this contest.
@metugejacy20
@chant

Sort:  
Loading...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04.

Curated By - @simonnwigwe

Curation Team - The Efficient Seven

 2 years ago 

Your post has been supported using the Steem Cameroon Curation Account.

Steem Cameroon Discord Server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87