Steem Cameroon Poetry Contest Season-9: Marriage

in Steem Cameroon2 years ago

istockphoto-511391071-170667a.jpgsource

Hello guys I trust we all are doing okay. I feel happy to join in in this beautiful contest of ours. I hope you all learn something from my post thanks.

Marriage to Me

Marriage is the coming together of two or more persons through a legal, religious or traditional way to form a romantic relationship inmatrimony.

My Experience in Marriage

Well i am not married yet but i must say from family to friends and neighbors, I have learned a lot from all sides.
I have learned that for marriage to work, there must be fights, patience, forgiveness and love which is the ultimate thing.

Marriage or Bondage??

I was only 16 when he took me in
A burden I was to my parents
This was the only way out of poverty they say
Please my daughter go with him and stay
With the bride price payed
This was how my marriage life began
With a soft tone he promised all will be okay
The first two weeks he made it okay
But this ended when he's true colors were revealed
It started with him getting angry with work and transferring the aggression on me
I became a punching bag for when he was unhappy
He'll beat me up till the neighbors surfaced
I became a slave in another house though I was born with freedom
Not once did I run to mummy
Endure my daughter marriage is for better or worse
She'd say
Life became unbearable
For marriage was bondage
At my tender age, miscarriages were but normal passages
I'm pregnant he'd rejoice when I say
But days after he'd ignored what i said
My marriage was joyless
What I experienced were so different from what I learnt from baba and mama
All I saw in mine was pain, agony, sadness
But what I learnt most was endurance
Marriage was never glorious untill I turned 25
When he was old and had not much power
I saw the gentleman in him
That was the beginning of the love I had long waited for
Blessed with a set of twins
Joy then came in abundantly
For after having 18 miscarriages
I became a mother
I learned to love the father of my kids
For it was the choice I needed to heal
Marriage was never a bed of roses for me
Mariage was one bondage I could not escape
For the law was not on my side
But marriage taught me patience, Endurance, love and most especially the ability to cry hard
Marriage was all good and bad times put together in a cell of bondage or hell in a cell as Modest my good friend would call it
That was marriage to me
The End...

I call on @commie2 and @metugejacy20 to join me on this contest.

Sort:  
Loading...
 2 years ago 

Your post has been supported using the Steem Cameroon Curation Account.

Steem Cameroon Discord Server
Steem Cameroon Telegram Channel

 2 years ago 

Oh my, this poem so touched my heart! After 18 miscarriages, she still stayed? Oh my God! Wonderful what commitment in marriage is

 2 years ago 

Awnnn thanks dr.... Truly marriage indeed na something else ooo

 2 years ago 

Here learned that marriage is full of trials like fight , then get staying patiently and forgive each other's as could or might apply . Thank you .

 2 years ago 

You learned well bro... Thanks for dropping by

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51