"Steemit Big Chef06" [ 10th of May 2024 by @chiagoziee ]

To all the members of this platform i hope you accept the greetings from @chiagoziee to you all this contest is worth participating in so am want to be part of it and will try to do my best to participate actively.

What is your favourite traditional delicacy?*

My favorite traditional delicacy is Eba/Garri and Uha soup. It is my favorite traditional delicacy I usually prefer swallowing the drinking sometimes that is why I prefer the chosen delicacy.

Do you prepare it or order from a restaurant?

I always preparing it i don't order from a restaurant because I prefer the delicacy to be home made. The reason behind my choice of preparing my traditional delicacy myself is to ensure that I eat the meal of my choice, to make sure I eat balance diet.

Why do you like this particular meal?

The reason I like this meal is that it tastes good and clams me down while eating I also like it because contains majority of the six classes of food this meal attracts me because it has the oha leaves while determines the good taste of the food the oha leaves make the taste of the soup to be pleasing to the tastebud.

download (1).jpeg
Source

Mention the ingredients used and step by step process of preparing this meal.

These are the following ingredients needed in the preparation of the Oha soup.

Water

  • 7 Coca yam
  • 2 onion that are chopped properly
  • 1/5 cup of palm oil
  • 2 tie spoon of grounded mushrooms
  • Fish
  • meat
  • salt Maggi
  • 4 big seeds of fresh pepper which are pounded
  • 350grams of vchunks
  • Oha leaves
  • Garri
  • a tie spoon of ogiri
  • stock fish

download (2).jpeg
Source

Method of preparation.

STEP ONE

You begin with the washing of the Oha leaves. Keep it in somewhere like the refrigerator.

STEP TWO

The next thing now is to start washing your cocoyam and then boiling it until it becomes soft. You then remove the peels and blend or either pound it to smooth paste.

STEP THREE

You then cook the vchunks with the already chopped onions and also with the water until it is tender in a pot.

STEP FOUR

Add some palm oil to a separate pot after that heat it until it then becomes clear [ please note not by the smoking process]

STEP FIVE

The next step is to add the grounded mushrooms and peppers to the palm oil and then stir it slowly.

STEP SIX

You now pour the cooked vchunks and also it's stock into the pot with the palm oil mixture.

images (6).jpeg
Source

STEP SEVEN

Add the ogiri, and stir it slowly and then let it steem for about 9 to 15 minutes, then add the cocoyam paste to make it become ticker.

STEP EIGHT

Then add the chopped Oha leaves [or spinach] and then stir it gently. Let the soup steem for about 6 to 8 minutes, or better still, till the leaves become tender.

STEP NINE

You are now expected to season it with salt to taste and adjust the spiciness if it becomes too spicy.

STEP TEN

Lastly you serve your Oha soup while it is still in hot a temperature, with either fufu or Eba.

Is there any history behind this particular meal?

The history behind the Oha soup is that it is mainly eaten by the igbo tribe of nigeria which is located in the South East of nigeria it is eaten by the South eastern states which are the Abia,Anambara,Imo,Enugu,Ebohyi state. This delicacy was founded by the forefathers of the igbo tribe.

images (7).jpeg
Source

What is the nutritional value of this meal?

It nutritional value are,it contains proteins, carbohydrates,salts, water and fat and oil.

The nutritional value of the protein in the meal is to give energy to us who eat the meal, this protein is present in the meat and fish which is been used for the preparation of the Oha soup this protein is also present in the Oha leaves.

The carbohydrates are also among the nutritional value you as an individual can get for the Oha soup it is found in the Garri.

I now want to invite @anthony002,
@ahmneska,@josepha,@goodybest@xubair,@inspriacion and also @bonaventure24 to participate in this contest.

Thanks for being part of my post!!!!

Sort:  
 last month 

Oha soup is a very sweet soup, my mother likes to cook it once in a while, normally we don't used to eat it but later we discover that my mother will be putting all the obstacles (chewable) inside the soup and it will attract us.
The first day I tasted it, I really enjoyed it so well, and I wish I can have a taste of it now.

Omg how I really wish I can have a taste of this delicious meal you have prepared here. This will certainly taste so great

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64016.64
ETH 3498.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55