The Diary Game [20/08/2024] // My Kid sister’s House Opening.

in Steem Cameroon4 days ago

Steem greetings all the way from the motherland-Cameroon to all friends on the Steemit ecosystem. It was Sunday as usual and a day for fellowship to us Christians but unfortunately, i could not make it to church that morning.

By cockcrow in my city, it was raining cats and dogs and no way for me to do any outdoor activities. The temperatures were cold and I had to stay in the sheet till around 9:00 AM.

I headed to the kitchen to prepare breakfast for us to eat. I decided to heat leftover food from the fridge for us to break our fast with. Then I took a warm bath, preparing to leave the house for my kid sister’s house opening.

IMG_2988.jpeg
Ready to leave the house in my traditional atoghu dress.

After dressing up, my elder sister called me to inform me that the occasion will begin at 1:00 PM. Therefore , I should endeavour to be there by 12:30 PM so that we can both go there together.

I left the house early to pass by a salon in town to buy some hair attachments and hair band for my daughter’s hairdo. While at the salon, it was still raining heavily and we could not go, I picked up the items I needed from the salon and sat down waiting for the rain to subside a-bit before we could go to the house opening party.

IMG_2989.jpeg
At the salon to buy my daughter’s hair items.

After a prolonged period of about 2 hours at the salon, the rain continued and I had to call a friend with a car to come and help take us to the event. This particular day, I saw the need of owning my own car. My friend was so kind enough that he understood my predicament and came for my rescue.

We arrived the house when the ceremony was almost halfway. It was still raining but everything was going on smoothly indoors. We came when all the talking and appreciations were done already and time to pop the champagne. Two bottles of champagne was handed to the elders in the family to declare the house opened.

IMG_3024.jpeg
The elders in the Family about to Pop the Champagne.

IMG_2995.jpeg
About to Share the champagne.

Then came the time for refreshments. We were served with some chewable such as doughnuts, a slice of cake, fried fish and chicken. We were also served with some drinks (all sweet drinks because I do not consumed alcoholic drinks).

80014e4b-1a5d-4814-89e3-b0dce6aa707e.jpeg
Enjoying the refreshments while chatting with my elder sister.

It is tradition that at house opening the family is supposed to provide 2 bags of salt which is used to perform some rituals in the house and the remaining salt, is shared amongst everyone present at the house opening.

IMG_3004.jpeg
These guys were in charge of sharing the salt.

When they were done sharing the salt, the table was opened for everyone to eat. I took a plate and went to the table to dish my food. There was variety but I had no appetite to eat much. I just put two boiled plantains and some vegetable soup and a slice of fried chicken.

IMG_3005.jpeg
My share of the food.

After eating, I could no longer wait as time was catching up on me. I took my bag and umbrella and left under the rain to the roadside where I took a cab back to my house.

Guys, it was a rainy day throughout but I thank God that the event went on despite the rains. Until my next diary session, I wish you all a happy work week ahead🫶🏾.

Sort:  

Wow, congratulations to your kid sister, I'm sure she really appreciated all the support she got from you guys😊. It's really important siblings should always turn up for each other despite their tight schedule, just as you
had arrived late but it was never too late for the party. It
made everywhere boosted 😉
#sec-newbie

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 4 days ago 

What a colourful celebration to behold. Congrats to your sister. Cheers ♥️

TEAM 1

Congratulations!

Your post has been supported by THE QUEST TEAM. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere, and any tags


post.PNG

Curated by : @fjjrg

 2 days ago 

Thank you very much for your very nice post in this group. And your pictures are very beautiful. I like it very much. So thank you very much again.so ilike this your post mam.

CONGRATULATIONS!!

Your post has been supported by THE DEC TEAM. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere, and any tags.

Black Modern Personal LinkedIn Banner_20240801_181829_0000.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61615.30
ETH 2674.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60