The Diary Game [10/07/2024] A Workday at Home and Taking Care of the Kids

in Steem Cameroon2 months ago

Steem greetings all the way from the motherland-Cameroon to all friends on the Steemit platform. It is always a pleasure to share with you all my daily routines. As a mother, a wife and a working-class woman, it is not often easy on my side but I thank God for the grace that has been sustaining me till now.

That said, it was a work-from-home day for me as we had organised a training online with guest speakers from Rwanda on “Reconciliation and peacebuilding within our communities”. This was meant to widen the understanding of the concepts and also give insights into fostering unity in our daily lives within our host communities.

The training targetted mostly youth leaders who will then further disseminate the information to their peers and communities of origin. The training was to begin in the afternoon hours but I had already prepared my presentation and everything was set the previous night. I had an early morning walk to a roadside market to buy some items to cook before the training time.

IMG_2683.jpeg
**I forgot to put on my lenses and faced difficulties with my eyes 🤓.

While walking on the road, I saw a group of town cleaners seated and waiting for their boss to arrive and placed them on duty in their respective streets to clean. One of the women of age was with a bag of vegetables trying to fix to probably cook after work. I imagine the stress women are going through just to put food on their tables and cater for their kids. And to think that some men will still have the gods to return home and question them about what they were doing the the whole day that food is not yet ready 😓.

Returning back home after I bought egussi, meat, smoked fish and canda, okonghobong, and ogbono to cook my soup for lunch, I immediately bathed the kids and prepared breakfast for them. Then I prepared all the ingredients and cooked the soup. After cooking, I took my shower and switched to my laptop to curate using the SC04 account, at the same time attending the training online.

It was my turn to present my ideas as an expert in the field and I did just that immediately after the training, I logged out from Google Meet and continued with curation. When I was done with the curation, my kids were hungry and I quickly boiled water and made gardi to be eaten with the ogbono soup.

IMG_2685.jpeg
Ogbono soup and garri.

My kids have been craving ice cream but the weather is too cold here as compared to Limbe I bought them ice cream on a daily basis because the temperatures in Limbe are hot. More so, they don't like to sweet ice cream and I was sceptical about the one sold around my house. Talking of which my neighbour had promised them ice cream long ago and surprised them with the ice cream. They had made me angry and I disciplined them. Seeing the ice cream, they were not excited. I later on asked them to eat the ice cream but they could not finish it as they complained it was too sweet.

IMG_2694.jpeg
Ice Cream from my Neighour to the Kids.

In the evening hour, while working on my laptop in my room, my kids came knocking to apologise after making me angry. I now shut down my laptop and we had a little play time while waiting for the Europa 2024 semi-finals between England and Netherlands.

The time for the game finally came and we were all glued to the screen following the match. I was not really supporting any team but my husband was supporting England because of his Arsenal players in the name of Rice and Saka.

IMG_2692.jpeg
The end of the game.

During the second half of the game, I logged in to Steemit and continued curation with the SC04 account. Immediately after the game was over, I had to round off curation and call it a day. I was so exhausted managing the house chores, work and the kids and I salute all the women out there trying to work and cater for their homes because it is not an easy task. May God continue to give them strength and grace to continue with what they do best and are questioned about not doing anything.

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

I can relate with this, I have an aunt who is taking care of 5 kids all by herself everyday she wakes up by 4:00 am to the market sometimes you won't even wake up to see her that woman is very strong and she would always come back home to make sure her children eat, she's the strongest woman I have ever seen, I salute all the women out there

You are so industrious ma'am, I salute your strength and stamina and I commend your efforts; it is not easy to be a house wife, a mother, then a working class and then you still have a responsibility to carry out on steemit; me as a single lady sometimes I feel so tired and lazy to do anything.., but you, you don't have a life of your own; your life is entwined with that of your husband and children to meet their needs. I dove my cap for you.
I pray for success in all your endeavors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62991.12
ETH 2685.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55