"Surprise or Promise, Which do you prefer” [05|06|2024]

christmas-1015359_1280.jpg
Edited on my phone

How are you steemians? I hope you are fine. Thank you @chant and Steem Cameroon for organising this contest. I want to give my input on surprise or promise which do you prefer? I hope you will find it interesting

Have you ever been surprised or promised before? Share what or how it looks like.

close-up-coworkers-celebrating-birthday_23-2149295519.jpg
Source
About five years ago, my wife organised a surprise birthday party for me. I didn't know anything or have any idea of what was happening. They cooked food and baked cake in our neighbour's house. She also invited people for the birthday but she told them to keep it a secret. When it was 4:00 pm, I saw a group of people at my house. On reaching me they sang a Happy birthday song that was when the secret was unveiled. They quickly set the table, we cut the cake and had the celebration together.

How was your reaction to the surprise or promise? Expatiate.

pexels-photo-3692740.jpeg
Source
Honestly speaking I was overwhelmed with joy. This happens to be the first birthday I am celebrating as an adult and it was the first year of my marriage. I couldn't say a word because if I did tears would have flowed down my cheeks. I hugged her (my wife) in appreciation.

Have you ever surprised or Promised someone? Explain.

pexels-photo-5493198.jpeg

Source
Yes, I have also surprised my wife with a beautiful gift during one of this year's Mother's Day celebrations. My wife has been trusting God to buy a particular shoes and it happens that it was close to that year's Mother's Day. So, I made a lady and asked her to supply the particular shoes for me which she did but I asked her to keep it with her. On the celebration day, I asked the lady to bring it and I handed it over to my wife and wished her a happy Mother's Day

Describe a scenario you were promised and it failed.

portrait-stressed-black-man_53876-20512.jpg
Source

Some years ago when I was a youth president in my church, we had a serving senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria in my church. One faithful day he gave me a call and asked me to bring my credentials and those of two other persons whom he mentioned names. I quickly met those people and collected their credentials together with mine I handed it over to him. He assured me that he was going to get us employed. He said he was going to the state headquarters that very day to submit our credentials. It is over five years today since this incident happened. Nothing came forth and he didn't call to apologise.

Do you believe in the statement “a promise is a debt”? Expatiate.

I don't believe that a promise is a debt. When you promise me something, it is up to you to fulfil your promise or not. I never begged for it in the first place. My expectations may be raised as a result of the promise but I don't look at it as debt to the person who made the promise. I allow it to be between him and his conscience.

I invite @kesybliss, @missyleo and @xkool24 to participate

THANK YOU FOR READING

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69662.55
ETH 3388.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77