## The Diary Game: 14/02/2022: He won me over with food

in Steem Cameroon2 years ago (edited)

Dear diary,
Yeah it’s me; again (exasperates). I know it’s been a while but please, just hear me out.
Screenshot_20220215-075929.png

Recently, everyone around me has been asking and wondering why I’m not married yet…yeah.
As much as I want to get married, I don’t want just “anyone”. My sisters say I’m too picky; my girls say I should just go-with-the-flow and my dad says “baby girl, don’t settle for anything less”.
IMG_20220119_135321_877.jpg

I just don’t think wanting a man who would excite my intellect as well as my loins, is being too “picky”. Maybe I’d never get married…well, that’s what I thought; until I met Jean (smiles and blushes).
Jean is a regular guy.

IMG_20220214_173710_921.jpg

He excites my intellect, my loins as well as my APPETITE (I mean this in the literal sense).
IMG_20220213_224130_538.jpg

IMG_20220213_224104_379.jpg

Yesterday, my elder sister’s friend-Celine-hosted her 32nd birthday party at a club, which doubled as a Valentine’s Day celebration. Of course, my sister asked me to come with her. “You need to get out more and meet new people”, she said.
What’s wrong in meeting new people, I thought. It’s not like I’ll marry them. With a settled mind, I cleaned up real good, got dressed and put my sassy on. I needed to make a good-no scratch that-great first impression on whoever I was meeting today.
IMG_20220205_190542_021.jpg

The party was already kicking when we got there. The moment we arrived, my sister left my side to go look for Celine and tell her of our arrival; I was left standing alone, not knowing anyone.
I was probably the youngest but I promised myself to not feel threatened by anyone’s height. Loud music, liquor and bodies grinding against each other was the order of that night. Suddenly, I was already having a rethink about coming here.
I slowly spun around, taking in my surrounding; then I noticed the bar.
“Yes. A drink would do; I need to relax these tensed muscles”, I said to myself.
Meandering around sweaty bodies, I made my way towards the bar. The bartender shot me a warm smile and boy did I almost swoon (lol). His dimples got me.
“1 shot for the prettiest lady in the room”, he said.
Thank God I’m dark-skinned; my blush was easily concealed.
IMG_20211224_224104670.jpg

I took a straight swig of the drink and felt an instant tingling on my tongue. I couldn’t put my finger on the flavors but it did something to me. I felt my shoulders begin to relax and my previous apprehension disappear. Whoops! This man could sure mix up a storm (smiles).
I was about to take the second glass when I felt a hard push. It was Sophie my sister;
“You need to get out of here right now!” she said then looked up at the bartender. “Edwin, can you take her to your place?”
“Soph you know I have to be here. I’ll get Jean to take her”. He whistled then I saw another guy coming to take me.
“Jean, you know the drill-“, Edwin began.
“-yes I’ll take her home”, Jean interjected, cutting in.
I can’t really explain what happened next but I know that we had escaped something dangerous. It felt like I was in a movie. My heart was racing so fast, I had to take continuous gulps of air to calm down.
Soon enough, we arrived Edwin’s.
The silence between Jean and I was awkward and almost deafening.
He took the TV remote control and switched it on. Channels weren’t on display. Seems Edwin had not paid his cable line bills.
He brought out a laptop and put it on.
“Nollywood or Western?” he asked.
“Western of course”, I responded, to which he chuckled. It sounded nice to my ears.
I saw the playlist and my eyes went immediately to “The Great Wall” and I let out a small yelp.
“What? You want this one?” he asked
“I’ve always wanted to watch it. Unfortunately, the trailer is the only thing I’ve had access to”, I told him.
“Hahahaha too late Hewett. If you have not watched this film then you haven’t lived my friend”
“Well you don’t have to rub it in you know”, I muttered, light heartedly.
Jean proceeded to play the movie.
“Snacks?” he asked. I just muttered an approval, my eyes glued to the screen of the laptop. However, my belly had something else in mind and it rumbled.
Embarrassing.
“Maybe food would be a better idea”, he said rising up to go to the kitchen.
“Yeah, maybe”, I muttered under my breath, both mortified and embarrassed.
Thirty minutes into the movie, an inviting aroma hit me!
I looked up and felt my mouth water (lol).
Heading towards me was Jean carrying a tray of boiled macaroni with a sprinkle of parsley, veg sauce, mayonnaise and bread…
IMG_20220213_224057_188.jpg
AAAAAAAHHHHHH!!!!
Did I say I wanted a man who would excite my intellect as well as my loins? This guy just did it with an extra “gravy” of FOOD! (Giddy laugh).
Of course, I had to properly comport myself and act like a lady. (hahaha)
“You do realize that you can relax, right? Your sister will be fine…plus, just think of this as a movie night”, Jean said with a small laugh. I joined in on the laughter, relaxing. One movie turned to another, then another, mixed with smooth conversation. The night couldn’t get any better.
Dear Diary, this might be too soon to tell but I think Jean and I may have just hit the start of something new.
IMG_20220128_113456_896.jpg

                                                                                                                                         Signed, Carine
Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Only the food is nice oh

 2 years ago 

Wow you had a great day, nice food,
Remember to write your name on pictures that you took by yourself that's @carine-ace whicj is your username should be on your pictures and pictures that you got from the internet, always put a link where you got the pictures

 2 years ago 

Yeah, all the pictures are mine; took none from the internet. Thanks for the advice🙂🤞

 2 years ago 

Cha see enjoying beb

 2 years ago 

See food ohh chaii. Good appetite

 2 years ago 

You had a wonderful day.
I hope things workout for you and Jean.

 2 years ago 

Eweeeeeeeeeeeeeee! Baby girl your life sounds like a movie🥰😂. Sweet!!! I am impatiently waiting for all the excitement Jean is going to give you🌚. Wish you the best of luck😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58617.29
ETH 3164.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44