Food for thought.. 24/02/2023

in Steem Cameroonlast year

Good day steemit!!
So i am currently on holidays at my parents place in the south west region. My father has a palm plantations and he has temporary workers that take care of the farms. One of the numerous jobs they do is cleaning the area around the palm tree ( ringing). So one day, my mom and I went to this farm to harvest cocoyams and corn and my mom was showing me how incompetent these workers were; they cleaned the easy ones and left the bushy ones yet my father paid them.
In that instant, i thought to myself, if these people can do this job poorly and still get paid, them what of me who can do it with efficacy. When we returned from the farm, i suggested to my father to let me ring those palms and he pays me, the first thing he asked me was " how many palms can you ring?". I was excited because I thought that was an automatic yes.
The next day i asked my father if i can start work and he asked me "what do you want to do with money?". I told him i needed shoes and other stuff. To my greatest dismay, my father gave me money to buy the shoes and asked me to forget about working in the farm. I was very disappointed because i thought he'll be impressed because i was trying to be responsible and not totally depended on him for everything.

Snapchat-850689246.jpg

This made me think of those loose girls who think they are to beautiful to work, who were trained to take without having to leave their comfort zone. What my father was doing to me was exactly how many girls became dependent and ended up as prostitutes. Nevertheless, i thank God that i don't reason like that. On the contrary his act pushed me to work hard because though 18, i see myself as an adult, responsible for my future.
With that in mind, i made some plans to help me reach my target when i resume school and business............so God help me 🤞🤞

Sort:  
 last year 

Waow I like your thoughts dear. What you have in mind is very true. Sometimes our parents over pamper us to a fault and only those who really want to grow up will refuse to continue to depend on our parents for every need. Sometimes you just need to leave your comfort zone not because you are rebellious but because you are trying to be productive and not be a liability in life. Though your father is trying to please you by giving you everything you need without working but you should learn to value the money because it takes work to have it. May God help you as you pray to do your business and be successful in it my dear. Lots of love from me😊🥰

 last year 

That's true, i value in hat he gives me a lot but as you said, i have to become productive. Thanks a lot for the encouragement ☺️

 last year 

You're welcome

 last year 

And please next time you post an interesting writeup like this add this tag #creativewriting

 last year 

Thanks for that, will definitely add it up

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60209.30
ETH 2627.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55