A short story

in Steem Cameroonlast year (edited)

Hii guys!! I'm new here on steemit, was introduced by @muluhpehn. Just had this quick thought and thought it wise to share.
So when i was in highschool, i was seen as such a naïve and good girl and that was thanks to my parents. I mean that is what one should expect growing up in a house where you can not socialize. I guess what I'm trying to say is that my mates in school thought i was that pure because my parents were extra strict and cautious. I totally disagree with them because i think that is not entirely what pushed me to be reserved. It's just circumstances around me and my mind set. There are people who stayed in that condition and still went wild, they took drugs, had abortions, some even gave birth!! Still in under the nose of their strict parents.
Many people around me have the notion that to be disciplined, religious and all the other good characteristics, you need to be brought up with iron fist, which is partly true but not entirely. I on the other hand think it's about mindset.
A typical example is my oldest sister, my father was extra strict with them when compared to me but a year after she left for the university, she got pregnant 😏. How do you explain her case because my dad was really cautious but yet the inevitable happened. Contrary to my oldest sister, my older sister who happens to be the third out of eight, was crazy, she will sneak out to have fun and hangout but she never got pregnant. That's where the power of mindset comes in.
Back to my high school friends, they said immediately i leave my parents' house, i will go crazy, and if care is not taken, i will end up like my oldest sister but contrary to their belief, here am i in another region, far from my parents but I'm still the reserved, disciplined and all 😌.
I personally think what contributed to my interesting personality is my sisters' experience as well as my friends. With that said, i don't think I'm disappointing my family any time soon 🙂.
Bottom line is, to have a disciplined and focused child as a parent, build his/ her mindset instead of focusing on refraining him/ her from activities typical of youths.

Sort:  
 last year (edited)

Such a wonderful short story with important lessons worthy of note. I would appeal if possible, you can attach a picture to make your short story outstanding and you can also use tags such as #steemexclusive #yourcountry and #creativewriting instead of the #diarygame since you aren't deliberating on how your day went. Get verified on your achievement 1 post by following the instructions of the greeters and as well complete your achievement tasks to understand the platform better. Welcome to Steemit.

 last year 

Thanks a lot for the compliment
And i will definitely follow your instructions concerning the tags.

 last year (edited)

Guide on achievement posts

Click on the above link for a tutorial guide on how you can complete your achievement tasks. These achievement tasks is very important if you want to understand the platform well and also enjoy your stay here. Just focus on learning the basics before implementing that's why these achievement tasks are put in place for newbies. Looking forward to seeing you complete your achievement 2. Once again, I'm so happy knowing you as a steemit user. I read your post and was interested in knowing you better.

 last year 

Thanks for the help. I have a question though: what is the appropriate interval for each task......i already did achievement 1

 last year (edited)

You don't have to wait for one achievement task to payout before you post another one. In steemit, you can post after 5 minutes but as a newbie you can post twice a day until you power up your steems. Yeah, you did achievement 1 but you need to follow the instructions given so as to verify your achievement 1 and then move to your achievement 2. Copy your Facebook link and post on the comment section for verification. That's the new verification system now. So you can post your achievement 2 while ensuring your achievement 1 gets verified. I don't know if you understand me.....

Screenshot_20230129-221328.png.

 last year 

I have copied the Facebook link, when i put it under the comments section of my achievement 1post what other statement will i attach to it

 last year 

Helli thank you for the new achievement rule. I have understood and i will do it thank you very much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42