Steem Cameroon Contest: National Civic Holiday

in Steem Cameroonlast year

Here we go again guys and once more it's always a new thing to learn with me, this time it's about the National Civic Holiday celebrated in Canada.

I bet you didn't know about it unless you're Canadian ☺️ but stay with me and I'll tell y'all about it I'll be delighted to spread more light on it. So without further ado...

What do you know about the day?

National Civic Holiday is a day that's celebrated in Canada where the people just enjoy a time off, it is celebrated on every first Monday of August and other parts of the country celebrate it in different ways and also have different names for it as well, like in Ottawa it's called Colonel By Day day and people celebrate it by not having work.

How do you or your country or your organization celebrate the day?

On this day, the people of the country commemorate the day the first Governor of Upper Canada John Graves Simcoe was the first Lieutenant though the day isn't mandated as a holiday across the nation, it is enjoyed by locals as an off day from work, and as a result, they'd have fun trips, maybe seat in or be with family and friends this is enough reason to celebrate.

What impact does your community gain during and after the commemoration?

The best thing I love apart from food, is an off day from work or school especially on a very busy day like Monday, this brings me a sense of great comfort as I swing back and enjoy the peace and stress free day, in the same way I'd say the Canadians enjoy this day as an off day by going on picnics joining a campaign, without forgetting that they'll spend time with friends and family.

What issue or concern will you recommend to be commemorated this week and on what date?

Another day to be commemorated is the International Allyship day from the name sure you'd know already what it is about, I'll be talking about this day soon so stay tuned.

I've come to the end of my presentation, I'm glad I had another opportunity to express myself to y'all again I'm inviting @patjewell, @newtonb, and @wintia23 to join in the fun..

Thanks for reading

Sort:  
 last year 

What about your country Cameroon?
Do they commemorate National Civic Holiday?

 last year 

No they don't

 last year 

Interesting! I was not even aware of a day like this. As the saying goes.. we are never too old to learn.
It is also not celebrated in South Africa.

Good luck and thank you for the invitation.
Kindly take note that this is the second post I am supporting you on this week.
Unfortunately, to make it fair to other Steemians I cannot support more than two posts in a week.

 last year 

I'm happy you're always pulling up for me friend thanks for passing by

 last year 

Pleasure! ☕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59601.30
ETH 2583.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48