What Christmas 🎄 means to you, your Christmas wishes, and how you plan to spend this year’s Christmas? | by @benjamin09

in Steem Cameroon3 years ago (edited)
Greetings dear steemians, hope all is well. Welcome to my creative writing entry post into the Creative writing contest organized by @thegreens in the Steem Cameroon community. In this post, I will tell y'all about my perspective of Christmas and my plans this Christmas.

20211210_121945.jpg

20211014_202335.png

What Christmas means to me.

20211014_202335.png

Christmas is the holiday which is celebrated as the birthday of Jesus Christ. Though there may be many allegations saying that Christ was not born in December but 25th December is taken and used because it was a pagan holiday, I really don't care about all those stuff. For me, Christmas is a period where people are very happy and welcoming. Everyone shares and is your neighbor. There is peace, harmony, joy, laughter and so many things good occur during the Christmas period.

Christmas in Africa is enjoyed in a communal way that everyone is friendly and opens the doors for strangers to come in and dine. This is really nice and sweet. But what people never talk about is the fact that, during Christmas period, there is a very high rate of deaths, accidents and apparently, it is being caused by witches and wizards. I believe that this is true because witchcraft is a very real thing. There is no good without evil. Everyone needs to watch his/her back during this period and pray to God to keep protecting you and your family.

editor.jpeg
Source

In America and other Western countries, they believe in Santa Claus - An immortal old man who bring gifts and presents to the good boys and girls and gives coal to the bad children. Santa Claus is also referred to as Father Christmas, Saint Nickolas Claus. A man allegedly born in Poland and lives in the North Pole with his merry elves. This concept of Father Christmas, is considered as a symbol of generosity and here in Africa, we give presents to each other and assume its Father Christmas😅. This is another western culture that we have adopted and turned it into a communal activity and my best part is the fact that we receive gifts.

20211014_202335.png

My Christmas wishes.

20211014_202335.png

This year 2021, I will love to spend Christmas with family, friends and loved ones. I hope that the gifts this year will not be socks because that was a gift that I have over received.

5474fd34021334.56c188f1ce010.jpg
Source

After school closes for the Christmas break, I will love to make chin chin with my family and also eat that chin chin, but not too much that it bores me. I will also give gifts and cards to my loved ones and try and spend more time with them before school resumes and I come back to Bambili. I will really like to spend and enjoy this Christmas season because time is unknown and family is precious.

20211014_202335.png

How I plan to spend this year's Chhristmas.

20211014_202335.png

How I miss those old days when I was a little boy and on Christmas day after church, I will draw a visiting path for all the houses that I will visit them to share with the joy and food. I will leave the house at 12:30pm, then start with my uncle's house that is the farthest and start coming closer to my house.

Then, I started growing and such activities seemed childish to me and I only went to the houses of those I cared about and houses that were close to mine. After few years, I started going out to bars and spent my Christmas drinking. There is a year that I don't remember what happened after 2pm on Christmas day😅. I started with drinking and later on went out with my friends to a bar to continue the drinking.

11544666864_df3f108ae6_b.jpg
Source

This year, I think I have matured enough to know the importance of spending this time with my family and friends as well. I will start the day off with church till about 11am. From that time, I will remain in the house with my family and call my friends that are out of the country to wish them a Merry Christmas. By 4pm, I will visit my neighbors and my uncle and spend some time with them. Then by 6pm, I will go out to spend some time with my friends and have some fun.
That is how I am planning on spending Christmas this year, unless something happens and distorts my plans.

20211014_202335.png

Conclusion.

20211014_202335.png

That is my perspective of Christmas and also, what I love about Christmas. Christmas is a really blessed period and we should spend it with our loved ones. That will be all from me and I wish you all a Merry Christmas!

merry-christmas-5730480_1280.jpg
Source

Thank you for reading.

@thegreens
@majerius
@chiabertrand

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Hahaha you have over received socks as gift, better for you, you even received socks😂😂

 3 years ago 

That palava gifts go sloww this year ehh😂😂
If someone no give me present, I go disown the person. On a whole Christmas massa

 3 years ago 

Hahaha I wise you

 3 years ago 

during Christmas period, there is a very high rate of deaths, accidents and apparently, it is being caused by witches and wizards. I believe that this is true because witchcraft is a very real thing. There is no good without evil. Everyone needs to watch his/her back during this period and pray to God to keep protecting you and your family

I love this statement Mal. It's exactly the bitter truth. During this particular period, we really need to commit our life's into God's hands because it's the highest period the devil is at work

Woow you have great plans of spending Xmas this year bro. Indeed Family come first before anything

 3 years ago 

Thank you for reading bro. This period is when one has to be very careful and precautious. We leave everything to God.

 3 years ago 

Christmas is a family holiday
So spending quality time with family and making them happy is a blessing.

Inspirational post 😍

 3 years ago 

Thank you for reading😃. Christmas is a special time indeed

 3 years ago 

This is a very deathly period where one has to be very careful of what to do or eat but all thesame we thank God

 3 years ago 

🥚 zactly

 3 years ago 

Thanks for sharing @benjamin09 I know that Christmas is all about rice eating especially when I was growing up and that my parents but buy me clothes then give me money for balloon....

 3 years ago 

Not to forget knock out😂😂
Man don ya morr ehh

 3 years ago 

I've successfully read through this long piece. Very true, the rate at which accidents are recorded is alarming. That's why the bible says watch and pray.

I also want to check your images, i think they're not taken by yourself, so i expected a source

 3 years ago 

Thank you for going through this post. I forgot to add the sources of those images. Please excuse me, let me add them now.

 3 years ago 

Mr Anti-plagiarism don drop quote 😹

 3 years ago 

Hahahaha my eyes are open.

 3 years ago 

Good stuff you got going on here. Christmas used to be that time of joy bro. Now, we all just watch our backs like you said. So sad

 3 years ago 

The situation is so saddd😞 What can we do to change this situation? Please help me think

 3 years ago 

Christmas indeed is all about family friends and food🤗. Most importantly to watch our backs thanks bro

 3 years ago 

🥚zactly bro

 3 years ago 

We need to be extra cautious during this period

 3 years ago 

I really love this, it also makes me miss when I was a child

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56519.24
ETH 2991.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16