Creative Writing Contest Vol. 17 | Education: What is or was your favorite and worst subject? What makes it or made it your favorite and worst subject? | by @benjamin09

in Steem Cameroon3 years ago
Greetings to all and welcome to my entry post into the Creative Writing Contest Vol. 17 organized by @steem-cameroon. For this contest, I will be talking about my favorite and worst subject.

20211001_110433.jpg

20210924_105849.png

What is or was your favorite and worst subject?

20210924_105849.png

When I was in secondary school, I was a commercial student in the Accounting Specialty and I still am. So the subjects I studied include

  • English
  • French
  • Maths
  • Business Maths
  • Accounting
  • Economics
  • Religious studies
  • Economic Geography
  • Office Practice
  • Computer Science.

Out of these subjects, the subject I held very dearly and considered it my favorite subject was Business Mathematics.😊

And the subject which I hated to my core and I knew it was my worst subject was Economics.😒

20210924_105849.png

What makes it or made it your favorite and worst subject?

20210924_105849.png

Firstly, I will start with why I have chosen Business Maths as my favorite subject and then later, I will give the reasons why I dislike Economics. The reasons are as follows in the following points.

What makes Business Maths my favorite subject.

  1. The teacher who taught me Business Mathematics, was the same teacher from Form 3 to Upper Sixth. This gave me consistency and comfortability. I was already used to the teacher and she too, was used to me. The environment was always funky and fresh as we always knew how to joke around and also how to be serious. This made her seem very friendly and reachable. I could always go to her with any problem, whether educational or social. She still remains my best teacher.

  2. The Business Mathematics teacher also sold scotched eggs and she used it as a reward system for serious students of her class. Whenever she gives an exercise, she encourages people and stimulates the brain to think faster because we the students already know she would give the first person with the correct answer a very nice scotch egg with pepper😁. I was most of the time the one to consume the prize😏.
    These little contests increased my love for the subject to an extreme level.

  3. I excelled at this subject and I was always the best in the subject in the entire class for consecutive years. Normally like a human being, the basic instinct of when you are naturally gifted at something, you become attached to it and find a love for it.

  4. The topics are very interesting especially as they are centered around the business sector. Since I was a child, I have always wanted to work in a Financial institution and since Business Maths is teaches about events in the Banking Sector among others, my bond with the subject only grew.


What makes Economics my worst subject.

  1. The teacher who taught me Economics was too uninteresting. I don't want to use the word boring but when she teaches, it was like I was lying on my bed beckoning sleep to take me to dreamland😂😂.

  2. Secondly, the Economics madam made the subject seem so stressful and difficult until when we got a new teacher in Upper sixth. She always made the air feel so thick and the notes feel so long. This made me dislike the subject to the extent of dodging from her classes.

  3. The textbook is really big and intimidating😂😂. When I was younger, I used to think I could never finish such a book and so, I cast it aside and I picked it up only to read for the GCE.

20210924_105849.png

Conclusion.

20210924_105849.png

From my point of view and from the text above, we can really see that the attitude of the teacher towards the subject and students, make part of how a student will enjoy the subject.

Thank you for reading and God bless you.

@majerius
@breeze.com
@rosita-nkefor

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Economics😂 sometimes the teachers don’t help us at all😒

 3 years ago 

Exactly😂😂
Either they are helpful or they are obstacles

 3 years ago 

😀😀😀😀 Your reasons for not liking Economics are quite funny , boring madam, big text book.🤣🤣..That is really amusing you know. But well i know the teacher has a very big role to play as far as liking a subject is concern. I think of equally has yo do with your age and the necessity of the subject. Now i know the importance of Economics but it use yo be boring as well...

 3 years ago 

U dont just know how that madam impacted my life with her boredom😂😂
Thank you for replying.

 3 years ago 

You are welcome

 3 years ago 

Great write up there bro
Teachers and textbook sizes do contribute to students' love and hatred for subjects as you rightly stipulate

 3 years ago 

Waoo bro the fact of one man food is another man poisened economic which you dislike was my best subject I love with all my heart

 3 years ago 

Good for you. I dislike it very much.

 3 years ago 

Chai bro. You love business maths but hate economics.🙄🙄.I think those two subjects are kinda related na

 3 years ago 

They are... In a way. But I have a strong dislike for Economics nonetheless

Funny reasons for not liking a subject but great submission there.

 3 years ago 

Thank you. To each his own.

 3 years ago 

Yeah teachers play a vital role in the hate and likes of subjects by learners

 3 years ago 

Yes they do indeed. I'm a good example

Wanders people come and see reasons for hating aconomics ohh. I swear this steemit contest is making my day any how

 3 years ago 

😂😂😂 those are my reasons ohh...
Just leave me

 3 years ago 

i will agree with you that teachers can help you know a difficult subject and at thesame time can make you hate a very cheap subject.

 3 years ago 

I just like people who love mathematics
I mean solving gives us self expression

 3 years ago 

Exactly bro... U understand😁

 3 years ago 

Lemme laugh first😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂.

I just like people people that like maths. I mean...... It's so great to know there are others out there.

But you and Economics na, I really don't know your problem with it😂😂😂😂. Until only GCE was able to get you to read that textbook.

Your write up is so funny and engaging. Kudos!!😅

 3 years ago 

Maths is amazing and from the other posts I read in the creative writing contest, a lot of Maths are on this platform.😂😂
Economics😑

 3 years ago 

But of course. What's not to like about maths?😂

 3 years ago 

Aswear... It's Maths for crying out loud.😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59368.30
ETH 2461.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45