Green Deeds Vol. 09 Contest | How is climate change affecting you and your Community? : Monday 27/09/21

in Steem Cameroon3 years ago (edited)

Good day to you all esteemed steemians. Much appreciation to @thegreens, the entire @steem-cameroon delegation team and it's community as a whole, for making available yet another Volume of this Green Deeds contest💕.
I bring to you my entry in respect to consequences faced by my community (Buea, Southwest Region) and i, due to climate change, as specified by the contest guide.

ALL CASES ARE DRAWN OUT FROM EXPERIENCES IN MY COMMUNITY, DUE TO CLIMATE CHANGE


Climate change has grossly affected my community, both on a personalised and generalised scale. It has undoubtedly retarded our activities in many ways, as well as caused a decrease in productivity.
Here are some of the ways this has affected my community.

Flooding

Just this week alone, my community has experienced flooding on a massive scale. The obstruction in season durability and massive rainfall within very small periods, has caused flooding in certain parts of my community. I was fortunate to take some snapshots during this period.
This flood destroyed many properties and buildings, as some owners grabbed buckets and shoved off some of the inflowing water, to reduce their losses.
IMG_20210924_114201_0.jpg
Photos of flooding in my community


Even roads are being flooded as clearly shown in the photo shots below😥

IMG_20210924_113558_1.jpg
👆🏻Road covered up completely due to flood



Inaccessible roads

This regular rainfalls tends to mess up the roads within my community, causing our journeys to elongate, as we struggle to maneuver through by all means possible. The roads become very muddy and slippery as shown below.

Photo of inaccessible roads in my community



Blackouts

Blackouts have become a thing of regularity in my community. The heavy rainfalls accompanied by strong wind, ends up bringing down public amenities, which in tend, leaves us to suffer. The most common example is the regular blackouts experienced, which is undoubtedly contributed by fallen electric poles.

Photos of me in blackout(left side), and fallen electric cables(right side)



Soil Pollution

The runoffs leave residues on farming soils, hereby polluting the soil. These pollutants are mostly plastics.

Photos of farms polluted immediately after massive rainfall



Spread Of Diseases

After these massive rainfalls, the water settles in hollows and gutters, hereby serving as breeding ground for mosquitoes. This leads to the spread of malaria, along side typhoid. My brother was a victim of this conditions.
Photo of standing water
IMG_20210919_171107_0.jpg

Photos of my brother being treated of malaria and typhoid




With that said, i arrive to the end of my write-up. Thank you so much for your keen attention, remain blessed.💕

@fombae
@thegreens
@saxopedia

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

I really enjoyed reading your local experiences of how climate change is leaving a negative impact in your community.
It's time for action and together, we need to take action to fight climate change.

 3 years ago 

That's so so true @thegreens, i can't wait to actively partake in the environmental club activities from my end.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64834.92
ETH 2540.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67