Steemit Engagement Challenge S4-W1 | My view on Cyber ​​Bullying - by @awumpini

in Steem Cameroon2 years ago

Hello good morning to you all. I hope you are all doing good today. I am also fine. My regards to @steem-cameroon for this great challenge. Please accept my congratulations 🎉 for winning and being part of this challenge. Please I would like to talk about cyber bullying.

What is your understanding on Cyber bullying?

0AD3CE7F-D607-4B5A-80B4-CA5AA0419EAD.jpeg

source

Cyberbullying is harassing with the use of computerized technologies. It usually takes place on social medias, chatting room, gaming centers and cellphones. Most of the social medias include WhatsApp, Facebook, twitter and instagram. Examples of cyber bullying are sending terrible messages or through social medias. Imitating somebody and sending mean messages to others for their benefit or through fake accounts.All friends mess around with one another, however some of the time it's difficult to know whether somebody is simply having a good time or attempting to hurt you, particularly on social medias.

Have you ever been a victim or perpetrator of Cyber ​​bullying?

Yes! I met this guy on Facebook some years back. Not knowing we were all from the same city but we didn’t know each other. He texted and when I reply, we started talking normally. He was now my friend and use to chat every day,Morning and evening. He didn’t ask me to be his girlfriend but we used to chat about relationships and break ups. He really advised me on how to leave my life. He told me he was single and I told him I was also single. He asked for my number and I sent him my WhatsApp number through Facebook. He texted me on WhatsApp and that Place we both had the chance to know each other better. He came to my area and asked for my address. I gave him my address and he came to my house. That was the first day we saw each other. We had a very good time with each other and had a lot of fun. We went to a nearby restaurant and enjoyed. He went home safely and texted me asking me to be his girlfriend. He liked me when he saw me. All kind of messages but I said NO. He tried several times but still I said NO. Then he became angry and started posting my pictures all over. From one social medias to another social media. Captioning that I am his girlfriend and he has used me. He even said he was the one who broke my virginity.

Give an instance (if any) wherein you or someone you know felt bullied in cyberspace, and what spiked such a feeling. (It could be throughout any social platform)

F8738F06-83E3-48FE-99BF-702C7CBB2C7C.jpeg

source

Not really me, but my friend. She was dating one guy from our school. My friend told us they were friends anytime I ask her. She didn’t want us to know what was happening between both of them. He met in hotels and restaurants to have fun but pretended not to like each other in our face. A week before our wassce examination, the guy invited her to a party but didn’t tell her the truth. He said it was a party for both of them. Not knowing it was a party for the boys. He claim to the boys that he can have sex with her and he needed to prove that. He told the girl to come to the near by hotel. She went there in the evening around 10:00. She said when she entered, no one was in the room, it was only the guy. She even told us they did nothing. They were just chatting and she slept off. Early morning, the guy started sharing messages on social media. He shared it on WhatsApp especially the school group and added her picture.

How did this encounter affect this said person

It affected her soo badly. She wasn’t able to write the upcoming exams. She cried almost every day. Me as her friend, she explained it to me and told me everything that happened. She said she could her some people’s voice in the next room but she didn’t know they planned to have sex with her. I asked her weather he really had sex with her and she said she slept off so she didn’t know. But all the guy’s friends said the guy had sex with her. Her pictures were all over social medias.

How safe do you feel on Steemit? And have you ever felt bullied at any point in time? (on Steemit)

Since the day I was introduced to steemit platform, I have never been bullied. Things are going well with me. Indeed it is a very good platform and i really enjoyed it. I feel safe here. I communicate with others and even makes friends through that. But I have never received a weird message or someone has never insulted me or say something bad that I don’t like.

What lessons did you gain from such a scenario? And what advice can you give to your audience?

I have learnt a lot of lessons and all what I have to say it that, we don’t have to keep some secret from friends. Who knows, they might help you in one way or the other. The girl should have tell her friends before going to the hotel and they might help incase of anything. Don’t give your WhatsApp numbers to strangers and moreover, people who you know can betray you talk less those you don’t know.

Thank you for reading my post.

I invite @mukadas @illy45 and @babadawuda to join this contest.

Sort:  
Loading...

It is so disheartened to hear that you were bullied and from your experience, I sure feel your pain. But today, Cyber bullying has caused many people trauma a lot. Others do not want to share their opinion on social media platforms because of the phobia of being bullied and this is causing great harm than good most especially teenagers being the current victims is so bad. You have done well by attempting the contest. Goodluck to you.

 2 years ago 

I am sorry for her. I think she wasn’t able to write her exams. That is what most guys does. They now bet with money to prove their colleagues wrong. They sent nudes and fake messages all over social medias

 2 years ago 

Yh and that is really bad

Sorry for your experience. I really feel for you. This is a social problem that's increasing. With greater knowledge and understanding, this problem will keep reducing.

Thanks for sharing

 2 years ago 

Ok i hear

 2 years ago 

a true experience I really don't want to hear about, but it's a valuable lesson you share with us. success to you.

 2 years ago 

Thank you

 2 years ago 

Greetings friend, really a horrible experience you went through, I do not understand how there are men who do not understand the word no.

These men should not really exist. They are formed without values.

 2 years ago 

And they really do exist. That is the saddest part

Ay amiga de verdad siento mucho lo que te paso, muchos hombres son así, les cuesta entender un no. La chica no se acuerda si ellos abusaron de ella, me da tristeza eso que paso. Hombres abusadoras. Gracias por compartir

 2 years ago 

Thank you dear

 2 years ago 

Cyber bullying is an act that no want will like to experience and it always come with heart break and betray
Iam very sorry about what happened to you and the way you were harass
I also want to say that steemit platform is the best social media platform and we should try as much as possible to spend more time there rather than any other platform

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75