Here is the cost of my Shopping- 100 DAYS OF STEEM: Day 78, friday challenge

in Steem Africa4 years ago (edited)

The cost of living in Uganda is relatively low as compared to other nations of the world. However it is higher in certain busy cities of the country such as Kampala. Therefore most people prefer living in the outskirts of the city in order to reduce on their daily, weekly expenditures and manage the situation.

I live in the outskirts of Kampala in a district called Mukono. In this blog post I want to share with you the cost of my weekly shopping list. This is going to include the groceries and utilities like Water & Electricity.

Being that I use a charcoal stove to cook my food. I always have to buy charcoal at $9 per week which I use in preparing breakfast, lunch and supper. Just a little description about charcoal; it’s black in color and it’s made from burning tree stems and branches.

Shopping list.png

For Food stuffs, I usually buy rice, beans, Maize floor, Matooke(Bananas), Wheat, Meat, Cabbages, onions, Tomatoes, garlic, Cooking oil, Royco, Eggplant, Silver fish, Carrots,

  • 3kg of beans at $3
  • 5kg of Maize floor at $3.5
  • 5Kg of Rice $5
  • 2 bunches of Matooke(Bananas) at 3.5
  • 2kg of Meat at $5
  • 2litres of Cooking Oil at $3.5
  • 3 packs of Wheat at $3.5
  • 4 Cabbages at $1.5
  • ¼ kg Garlic at $1
  • ½kg of Onions at $1.5
  • 3 Eggplants at $1
  • Silver fish at $1.5

IMG_20200620_081111.jpg
This is a bag of Charcoal. I buy it in small portions at $9

For Utilities
I spend $3 per week on Water. I pay up my water bills using mobile money transactions. We pay for water to the government company called National Water and Sewerage Corporation (NWSC).

IMG_20200620_084732.jpg
NWSC meter for my house

I spend $4 on Electricity per week. I pay my electricity bills using mobile money. I simply deposit some digital money on my phone account and execute the payment transaction.

IMG_20200620_075450.jpg
This is my house's Yaka meter used for powering up my house with electricity. Its measured in Kilowatts as you see on this device.

In total my weekly shopping expenditure is $49.5

IMG_20200620_083416.jpg
This is the shop I usually buy these items.

IMG_20200620_080105.jpg
This is one of the grocery stores where I usually buy other food items and other needed grocery.

Isn’t this total weekly expenditure a bit high for one person? Any way I don’t stay alone, I live with some other 4 people which makes the cost of living a bit high and more challenging.

The Covid 19 situation has caused plenty of items to shoot up in prices but I have managed to cope up with the situation through this online business. I am very strong and managing because my Steem earnings have got me covered.

I am so glad to participate in this challenge and i welcome all steemians to join this contest by @steemitblog. Ensure to keep following that blog account for more valuable challenges.

Sort:  

I can't remember the last time I paid to the government for water. They don't give a damn about that. This made individuals get a source through digging of well and boreholes. People sell 20 literes of water below 0.1 cent, so with $1, you have your home filled. $49 per week is not too high considering the number of people involve.

In developed countries, only haircut range from 10 to 100 dollars, which stands at the average of $28. 😁

So to most, that amount might be considered low, but considering the rate of dollar to local currencies, it's not.

😂 😂 very true! It's conclusively so because the dollar is a stronger currency compared to the currencies of low developed countries.

You garrit

I live in Honduras, food prices with the ones you post here are very similar, but we do pay a lot more in water and electricity, plus we have to buy bottled water at close to $1.00 per 5 gallon bottle.

Woow...glad to know that. That means Honduras is also a 3rd world country. Thanks so much for your comment.

Of course it is a third world country, we are unfortunately one of the poorest countries in Latin America, perhaps only slightly better off than Nicaragua, and of course Haiti which is the poorest.

Thank you for taking part in the latest 100 Days of Steem Challenge.

This is a most interesting and informative post.

The Steemit Team

Thanks so much for the support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62186.49
ETH 2417.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56