THE DIARY GAME: 01/09/2020: Shouldn't My Parents Respect My Personal Responsibilities?

in Steem Africa4 years ago (edited)

In recent years, parent-child relationships have not been rosy. And I woke today without the smallest idea I would be having a face-off with one of my folks which is the highlight of my day.

Meanwhile, this isn't the first time a disagreement will ensue. Once in a while, we have these disagreements. And sadly, each one almost has me loving them less.

child-1439468_640.jpg

Image: Pixabay

It's 12:43 midday as I write, and my day is already well-packed with action for my diary game today.

Today, I woke up in a jiggy mood, and eager to crush my day's goals. Since my day would be busy, I had to cook my meals for the rest of the day.

I'm on a weird sort of feeding strategy now, I eat at 2 PM, squeeze in two meals till 6 PM. and the next time I'm eating is 2 PM again the next day.

Meanwhile, I also have a tradition to check my list of to-dos. Although, I'm not orderly enough to do it every day without a hitch. Yet today I did check my list.

  • Read an article
  • Do Mobility Exercises
  • Leg day
  • Attend to pending content writing jobs.

Now, this last activity is where I had to stomach one of my parent's fury.

As I was about settling into my pending jobs, my dad called out to leave whatever I was doing to join in an activity that would take hours to complete. I turned it down, told him I had a job with a nearing deadline.

And he threw a paddy about how I never want to do anything which is almost true because most of the things they want me for don't interest me. However, I stood by my decision, when he was done talking for a while, I turned to continue with my tasks.

This is a Nigerian Norm, you shouldn't turn down parent errands.

So this leads me to something I have a very strong resolve about:

I wouldn't give up my hustle to satisfy parent errands. I'm an adult, and my plans should be respected.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94