ONCE UPON A TIME A Short story told by my father

in Steem Africa4 years ago

Once upon a time, I was around eleven years old when my father told me about his lineage. I had never thought that such a family would actually exist.

After a long day of visitation in my elder’s sisters home, upon coming back, that’s when he unfolds the whole scenario. It was I think half past 9 pm when we returned back home. My father was drunk at that time. However, as he lay on his bed, I asked him to tell me about his late grandfather and his father and mother whom I call grannies.

‘’My father and mother got married at a very tender age …he narrated. They were forced to leave their parents homes and build themselves a small hut where they would start their simple life. Their life was so poverty stricken. That’s why my life was not always the best. My parents tried to educate us. We were seven gents and one guy…He continued... As I kept hearing this story I was heartbroken to say. I couldn’t imagine that my parents and grandparents suffered like this in life.

why_the_poor_have_large_families_mother_and_six_children.jpg

IMAGE SOURCE

As he continued talking, I could not hold more tears from my little eyes. To continue the ball rolling, My father cleared his cracked voice. Uhmmnn’... I was among the children my father was able to educate. After my form four class, he took me to train to be a police officer. The training was difficult and hard but after a year and a half I was enrolled in government and I began serving my nation. It’s now thirty five years still serving as a police officer… He narrated!

After a few years in police service, he got married to his first wide out of whom he got four children. He was talking of my step brothers and sisters that I had grown up with. They had been raised by my mother but I didn’t know what happened to their real biological mother!

9603b0ca736ea114a5d5a4f245dcc174.jpg

IMAGE SOURCE

He said…’’she left me to go work in Kenya but unfortunately never returned back and that’s why I opted to marry another woman who became your mother! That day, I got to understand something new that really intrigued my heart and love for my family.

Thank you so much @beautychicks

TO BE CONTINUED………..

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

A real-life story that touches the heart. Life is not an easy journey. Cool story about your dad, and his family. Thank you for checking out the daily topic on discord.
Your post has been curated from the @steemcurator05 account. Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32