Contest: My Favorite Hobby - Playing the Piano

in Steem Africa4 years ago (edited)

Let me begin by expressing my gratitude to @yohan2on for organizing this contest and giving us the opportunity to talk about something we love do and are passionate about. Greetings too all Steem Africa members and a big shoutout to my Ghanaian comrades, team work makes the dream work, residual income in the goal. Steem to the moon

photo5998835952979653605.jpg

Me behind the piano on a Sunday service

History

Born into a family of choral singers i was enticed by the sound of a piano or organ playing and always wished i could play even if it was just for the fun of it. Around the age of 12 years when i was in junior high school i was introduced into the world of music for the first time by my music teacher, he taught me how to read the staff and interpret the notes, unfortunately this lasted for only two terms or semesters and i could not get far, i could play some basic lessons on C major though.

Fast forward to 3 years after that, i was playing one of these basic lessons on the church piano when no one was around and it turns out the choir master was at the back of the chapel listening, he came around asked if i still remember my notes and could read the staff notation i said yes, well mostly because i was eager to learn but the truth is i had forgotten alot and only played these lessons over and over any chance i got. He gave me my first assignment there and then to go and learn the methodist hymn number 818 and to report back the following day, so i spend my week relearning everything i know and spent the 24 hours within the week trying to play this song.

Me and my friends having fun



Eventually i got it, not perfect but it was ok to me, i went to play to him and he was impressed, mostly because he didn't expect me to get it in such a short with no guidance at all, before the month ended i could play about 5 hymns and was already playing at church under his supervision. I was in love with the whole piano thing and was exploring every avenues available, watched youtube videos, studied contemporary and classical pianist

Today

About 6 years since then i am now a principal organist for my church and part of the music directors for my circuit, i am still keen on exploring and love to play the keyboard every chance i get. I see myself as a lover of music and so i do not restrict myself to any particular genre, i play ghanaian hilifes, old kuuls, western rnb, cools, hippop, anything to let me have fun and i really love what i do. I am amenable to learning new things and i still consider myself an amateur and so if you are a lover of music feel free to always link up and lets share ideas.

F0C4C52E-ACD4-4433-8C32-E3BA20A11205.jpeg

Me Conducting the Church choir on our anniversary

Conclusion

I believe what kept me going and helped me in developing this passion and hobby was simply my love for it, and so in concluding this writeup let me say that it is rarely a waste of time to pursue something you are drawn to. Thanks for reading and have fruitful week

Sort:  

That's really amazing the way you play the keyboard. Thanks for sharing your hobby. Good luck with your entry to this lovely contest!

Thanks Senior

Wow that was nice of you. A piano is something i dream of learning to am hoping that some day will also get to learn it. Any way thanks for sharing with us your hobby

Thanks for reading, few tips for when you decide actually go into learning to play the keyboard, you need to be very consistent to build your muscle memory, thanks for reading and have nice time

Playing the piano is such a unique and great hobby. It takes plenty of time dedication to It to learn it. Indeed you love what you are doing with the piano and that's why you learnt so much about it in a shot time possible.

Thanks so much for sharing with us about your hobby. Glad to learn something from what you love doing. I wish you all the best in the contest.

Thanks for reading and for the opportunity too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62