Betterlife with steem: My first blood donationsteemCreated with Sketch.

in Steem Africa4 years ago


The teaching hospital where I donated blood
IMG_20201030_073900.jpg
Google plus code
What3words code

Hello Steemians,
In this context, I @armstrongdiho today, am writing my first experience to donate blood to a friend who is suffering from blood cancer( Leukaemia).

Today, I went to university of Port Harcourt Teaching Hospital to donate blood to my brother's friend, It was my first time though.


Me outside the hospital
IMG_20201030_123835.jpg

When I got there, one of the medical staff took me to a room where she collected my blood sample for health checkup. She said the reason for the checkup is to check my pulse, blood pressure, body temperature, hemoglobin levels and to check if I have any disease.


Me waiting in the haematology unit of the hospital
IMG-20201030-WA0000.jpg

Fortunately, When the result came out my health checkup was ok, that's I'm free to donate, since my blood group is O- positive. You must be in good health to donate.

While waiting for the next donor to come out, I decided to take snack. Later I was called by a trained medical staff, he asked me, if I have had my breakfast and I replied yes.

During the donation, I was asked to sit in a reclining chair, small area of my arm was cleaned, a sterile needle was then inserted. I remained seated while a pint of your blood is drawn. This took roughly 8 to 10 minutes. Then a pint of blood was collected, a trained staff member removed the needle and used the cotton wool on my arm.


Me while donating blood

Some people said after donation, you feel nauseous, lightheaded, or dizzy, develop a raised bump or continue bleeding at the needle site and have arm pain, numbness, or tingling after donating blood. I'm grateful, I never had such experience.

I am happy today that I saved a life and the purpose of our lives is to be happy. It is necessary to help others, not only in our prayers, but in our daily lives.

Kindness in words creates confidence. Kindness in thinking creates profoundness. Kindness in giving creates love by Lao Tz

Sort:  

Hello! I fully support you in this. When I turned 19, I decided to sign up to donate blood. I have known several people who would have died if not for blood transfusions. As a person who has sufficient blood, I consider it my duty to donate blood. But before doing this, you need to study all the nuances and criteria in more detail.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64258.95
ETH 3170.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55