SEC-S5:W3 – The Diary Game: Almsgiving CeremonysteemCreated with Sketch.

in Steem Venezuela2 years ago

Hello friends, I am @senehasa from Sri Lanka. This is my first entry into this community. Big thanks to Steem Venezuela for organizing such a lovely contest for us to participate. I am happy to share my gratitude diary about an Almsgiving ceremony in which I participated today. Actually, this opportunity was given to me by one of my neighbors called Shanika Sister. Her father passed away on the same day as today, two years ago. On remembering her father her family organized this almsgiving to Bhikkhu.

Gratitude diary (1).jpg

First, I will introduce you to what this almsgiving ceremony is. Almsgiving means offering food and other essentials to the monks who study and practice Load Buddha's teaching. This ceremony is mostly performed in Sri Lanka as a way to remember relatives who have passed away. This almsgiving occurs by summoning Bhikkhu to our own homes as well as by going to the temple. The almsgiving ceremony in which I participated today happened by summoning Bhikkhus to her own house.

image.png

As usual, I got up early and did my morning routine of walking, drinking coffee, cleaning, and making breakfast. It was time about 9 a.m. when I finished all my routing works. I then take a shower and get dressed for the occasion. I decided to arrive there a bit early as I might assist them. Around 11 a.m., the monks begin eating lunch. My husband told me that since the ceremony would take around two hours, he would be there by noon. So, at about 9.30 a.m. I went there alone.

image.png

A caterer named ‘Udumbara’ was hired for lunch. They make all the preparations, including setting up tables and chairs for the monks as well as providing all the food, plates, glasses, and all. For the family, just Pirikara and other needs have to be organized. Although I need to help them everything has finished when I go there. The family has invited ten Bhikkhus to their house.

The relic casket and monks were come to their house at about 11 a.m. First, presented Buddha with the "buddha's offer" by placing it in the relic box on a different table. Then the family requested the monks to accept their alms. After Nayaka Thera made a brief statement about the significance of the occasion, the food was properly presented. After the monks had eaten their food and delicious dessert, the additional necessities called pirikara were provided.

image.png

After finishing all these activities, another monk gave punnanumodanawa and asked everyone who participated in the ceremony to transfer the merits to their departed family members and friends.

image.png

image.png

The relic casket and monks were conducted back to the temple in the same manner as they were brought and the proceeding was concluded.

Then, all of the members who had been invited to the occasion were then offered lunch. By this time my husband also attended the ceremony. All of us enjoyed the food and dessert very much. All the foods were very delicious, and for dessert, there was Watalappan, Pudin, Fruits, Curd, Ice-cream and many more.

After our meals, we talk to one another and share our thoughts. We had a chance to meet friends and other family members there, after a very long time. I must gratitude my friend Shanika for giving me this opportunity to take a time to enjoy as well as to collect some merits to my life.

My dear friend this is my gratitude diary, hope you all enjoy that and could learn something about our almsgiving. I like to invite @jyoti-thelight, @sualeha, @marito74, and @pea07 to participate in this contest.

Thanking you all for reading my blog.

Sort:  
Loading...

Thank you for inviting me to participate in this engagement challenge. Thank you for let us know about almsgiving. Wishing you luck for the contest.

Thank you for reading my blog and your feedback.

 2 years ago 

Hello friend, I think it is a very nice religious activity, remembering the deceased, I can imagine the anecdotes, they are always events full of spirituality and union.

During our stay in this life we do good deeds and for these we will be remembered with affection, if we did bad deeds we will be remembered and surely some good soul will pray for his peace and that of the relatives who gave him peace in spite of everything.

Yes, my dear friend, we will need to carry what we did successfully with us in the future. Consequently, it is our duty to always do something kind for others.

Me pareció muy interesante toda esta ceremonia de las limosnas, además de conocer parte de tus tradiciones. Que bueno que hayas tenido la oportunidad de asistir y de disfrutar todo el proceso y compartir con todas las personas ese momento.

Thank you for stopping at my blog and your feed back. I am happy that I could share with you something about our culture. Have a nice day.

 2 years ago 

Gracias por ser parte de la Comunidad Oficial Steem Venezuela, tu publicación ha sido recompensada por La cuenta Comunitaria @hive-193637 de la Comunidad Oficial Steem Venezuela.

venezuela blog.jpg

Thanks for the support.

 2 years ago 

TEAM 3

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator06. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.

Curated by : @damithudaya

Thank you so much @damithudaya and your Team -3, for your great support

No worries! Keep creating quality content and concern about your Voting CSI to have continuous support from the curators!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59608.09
ETH 2475.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46