SEC-S7W6 – Life Stories

in Steem Venezuela2 years ago (edited)
Introduction

It feels good to be back here again to join this wonderful initiative called steemit Engagement Challenge. Having gone through the contest topic, I really can't explain why I gravitated toward this direction, maybe because my heart has something strong to communicate...smiles.

IMG-20230130-WA0061-03.jpeg

Sharing stories about our lives can be a source of inspiration to those who comes in contact with it. I definately have a story to share and I must say, I learnt a whole lot from the story. If I am to title the story I would title it ; I did not quit... smiles.

What really happened? What were the obstacles? Did you win? I know these and many more are the questions on your mind right now. Kindly journey with me as serve you hot.


Sometimes last year I was mobilized for NYSC, trust me I had no idea what it was all about, all we had with us were information from people who had once being part of the scheme. The biggest shock of the moment as at then was the place I was deployed to.

It was actually not where I wanted, it was the least place I expected. Normally everyone wants a good place, a developed state to be precise where they can serve even with opportunities in view but to my utmost surprised I was posted up north and not one of the best and developed part of it.

Why would God allow me to be posted to serve in Taraba of all places in Nigeria? The last time I heard the name Taraba was in my primary school days when we had to recite state and capital compulsorily.

This was one of the major question I was asking God as at then. Answers were far from me. All I knew was that there was this part of me that was already saying no to the thought of changing the location like every other person would.

Family and friends tried to talk me into changing that location. They gave reasons like it's very far, it's not safe and the likes... My enquiry heightened and then I knew within me that that I had an assignment to do in that part of Nigeria so redeployment was not an option.

I do not really have the picture of what I was going there to do.. the assignment wasn't clear but the good thing is that I know the assignment was about touching and impacting life through Christ even though I do not have the blueprint on how to.

photo-1473625247510-8ceb1760943f.jpeg

source

I moved to Taraba with my things and the journey took me almost three days leaving my friends and family in total despair as they didn't have a full glimpse of how the journey was going with me. You need to see them take a deep sigh of relief when I told them I had finally arrived.

We got to camp...still clueless on how to carry out an assignment I don't have a clear picture of, anyways I was carrying out the general routine that every other prospective corps member (PCM) was doing in camp but still had the assignment at the back of my mind.

It took me days almost towards the end of the 21 days compulsory orientation camp before I fully identified with NCCF a gathering of believers, I only attended Sunday service but would not attend service for other days. One of the reason was because I didn't know fellowship holds on other days so I was caught up with other activities.

When I eventually found out about the fellowship, we were rounding up. I could remember filling a membership form for NCCF in one of those day and we were interviewed. It was just two day to leaving the camp that I got a call from the then NCCF president requesting that I come over for a discussion.

photo-1507537362848-9c7e70b7b5c1.jpeg

source

On meeting him he started communicating a burden, an urgent need that needed to be met. He told me he was led of God to help out in one of the followship zones that was inactive and left to die. I was like for real? God is this it. The fellowship he was talking about was in a place we could refer to as a village.

People do not really love to leave the state capital into the interior part of whatever state they are posted to but here am I, being asked of the Lord to go there for a work. Everything began to make sense at that point, my heart began to understand what the assignment has been all along. But humanly speaking, I also wanted to remain in the state.

He gave me time to think about it and get back to him...just a day though. My heart had already aligned with the burden and so I decide to report there.
On getting there I discovered I was alone. Nobody really had time for God and the things of God.

It seems to me that since the fellowship there died, the relationship between the people and God died as well. It was a big task as there were no people of like minds except for a corp member I met there called Ceaser.
He saw the reaction that was gradually becoming a frustration and then became a very good support system for me and for the work.

We started the fellowship, and then out of eye service many came and I thought that was it, that I had won on a platter of gold. I didn't know it was just a set up I was soon to discover. As days went by the number dropped...passing a clear message that they weren't interested. On the long run it was just me and my friend Ceaser that was left.

We continued for months praying and encouraging other to join but they wouldn't, they had excuses most of which were flimsy. At this point I was gradually giving up, the assignment began to weigh and overwhelme me.
Every time the thought of going to fellowship comes to mind, it makes me suck and unhappy which shouldn't be.

photo-1630941150115-ae465f29ece0.jpeg

source

Prior to this time, we have been praying consistently for two hours every night for the souls of these people at least to give God a place in their hearts...this was my desire even more than them showing up for fellowship activities. We had to intensify the prayer until one day.....

We had a breakthrough. Their heart opened and we were able receive the good news which they believed wholeheartedly... They changed. The same message they have rejected now becomes the message they love to hear.
We were no longer forcing them to come, they came on their own accord.

photo-1529070538774-1843cb3265df (1).jpeg

source

At some point they were coming very early, earlier than the time scheduled for fellowship. These were the same people who complained about time and how that they were busy and won't be chanced. This brought joy to my heart and made me trust God more.

Indeed His words to me while in camp the night before departure was true. I could remember crying that night in the camp fellowship because I didn't know how I was going to build the fellowship which was dead, I had never done any of such in all my life in my service to God. But He gave me a passage of the scripture Ish 43:1-2, saying he would be with me.

All these came to pass in the 6th month of labour and endless service. Today there is a fellowship growing and waxing strong. The people now love God and are eager to hear the good news over and again. I feel fulfilled knowing I didn't disappoint God.

photo-1569292567777-e5d61a759322 (1).jpeg

source

I will be passing out of the scheme very soon just like every other corp members but there is difference in that they were posted but I was sent hence the difference in assignment. Those who benefited from the ministry still bless the Lord today because I accepted to come down to the small town of Donga where our path crossed.

This experience will forever remain in my memory. Let me wrap it up here. I hope you enjoyed my true life story. Thanks for your time. Permit me to invite my good friends to this contest ; @ruthjoe @josepha @enamul17 @chukwu10
Gracias!


Regards:
@lhorgic♥️


Sort:  
Loading...

Quiting should ever be the last thing we should think off. I am glad to read that you didn't quite overcome the obstacles, despite which you're celebrating and rejoicing over your achievement. I wish you the best of luck.

Thanks brotherly... Thanks for the word of encouragement. I celebrate you. #steem-on

Am so proud of you boss!

 2 years ago 

Gracias por ser parte de la Comunidad Oficial Steem Venezuela, tu publicación ha sido recompensada por La cuenta Comunitaria @hive-193637 de la Comunidad Oficial Steem Venezuela.

venezuela blog.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49