Steemit Engagement Challenge II: A meeting between Steemians by @focusnow

in Steem Venezuela2 years ago

1.jpg
image.png

Introduction

I am delighted to make this entry for the Steemit Enagement challenge in Steem Venezuela community. In this particular contest, I will write about 3 different meetings with Steemians which I organized or helped to organize. These meetings were special in many ways. Before I go on to give details, here are the 3 meetings with Steemians that I will like to talk about:

  • Launching of Food4Thought by Steemalive
  • CampusConnectng 1 year Aniverssary
  • SteemAlive 1 year anniverssary

Lets now get into the details.

image.png

Launching of Food4Thought by Steemalive - 19/4/2022

What is it?

Food4thought is a Steem Promotion project I designed and implemented on the 19th of April, 2022. The program is a meeting point of Steem Promotion and acts of kindness. Through Food4thought, we offered to reward newbies with some food items if they sign up on Steemit and publish consistently for at least 8 days. I designed this program because I discovered that retaining newbies was a challenge on the platform. So we promised to reward these newbies with some food items if they continued to publish after their introduction post.

How did it happen?

On the said day, I had invited potential new users for the event. I also invited old steemians to help with making presentation, signing up newbies and mentoring them. So the old Steemians that I invited for the program are @ijelady, @meymeyshops, @mesonia, and @marajah. All the guests and newbies arrived by 10.30am.

We kicked off the meeting by 11am. I did the first presentation in which I explained what Steemit is and how to join the platform. @meymeyshops presented the next part in which she explained the types of publications allowed on Steemit. Then @ijelady presented what newbies need in order to succeed on Steemit. @marajah helped with the logistics - getting the venue ready, taking attendance, and serving refreshment. @mesonia assisted the newbies to sign up and make their introduction posts.

Details that made this meeting unique

Many things made this event so interesting and unique. They are as follows:

  • The Venue: This event was hosted in our Aba Steemit office, a large training and meetup center at the heart of Aba city. The venue really gave substance to the meeting as those newbies became confident that they are joining a business with a physical presence - an office. No other location would have made more impression on the mind of these newbies than our office.

  • The Old Steemians Meet: This was really the first time all the Steemains meet and saw the first time. @ijelady came all the way from Uyo. I have met with her severally. But this was the first time @mesonia, @marajah and @meymeyshops are seeing her in person. We really enjoyed to work together and share our experiences as Steemians living in different cities - Aba and Uyo.

  • The Result: To show how effective this meetup was, 6 new Steemians not only signed up after the presentation, they also published their introduction post. They include the following: @kaduru61, @noble316, @eliteem, @beautyeden, @joinfree, @nwafather.

Images from the Meetup


image.png
Selfie with @mesonia


image.png
Selfie with old Steemians and newbies


image.png
Selfie with @luchyl after the event


image.png
Selfie with @meymeyshops presenting in the background

image.png

CampusConnectng 1 year Aniverssary - 14/4/2022

What is it?

CampusConnectng is a community of students across the world. The community founder @whitestallion is one of the earliest users I recruited and mentored on Steemit. I was happy when he called and told me that his community is 1 year old by 14th April. So the anniversary was a program used to remember how far this student community has gone in the last one year. The anniversary was a great occassion that brought old Steemians together once again.

How did it happen?

We started the meeting with a brief prayer said by the community founder @whitestallion. The he also made a brief opening speech to the applause of all that were present. After that, we discussed how far the community has come in the last 1 year and some of the challenges encountered.

While the speeches was going on, we also enjoyed great food provided by the host. We enjoyed rice, chicken, while, juices and many other things. Soft music was played when there were no formal speeches. We asked questions and did some general discussion about communities in general.

Time for pictures came and everyone took their time to capture the images. Of course, there were unofficial dances by a few in attendance. Then the high point of the occasion was the cutting of anniversary cake. @whitestallion the founder, held the knife, and we all supported him. We spelt Campusconnect and cut the cake at the end of the spelling. The cake was divided and shared among guests. After a little time, we closed officially and everyone left the venue.

Details that made this meeting unique

The anniversary was really great because of the following:

  • The Venue: @campusconnect was started in Aba. It was only fitting that the anniversary took place in Steemit training center, Aba. Besides, the founder lives in Aba. I, mentor to the founder, also live in this city Aba. No other venue would have been more fitting.

  • The Old Steemians Meet: This occasion was a wonderful time for some of the Steemians present to see each other for the very first time. For me, I have seen all severally. But it was great to see the former Academy professor @alphafx again after quite a while. I appreciated seeing @ngoenyi, @beautybb, @solar-star, etc. It ws the first time @beautybb saw @ngoenyi and a few others for the first time. These made the occassion really a special one.

  • The Fun: I really enjoyed myself. Others in attendance met. Imagine seeing someone you have been talking to many months ago, for the first time. We cracked jokes, ate together and had fun. I would not have enjoyed myself better elsewhere than at the anniversary ceremony.

Images from the Meetup


image.png
Selfie with @ngoenyi

image.png
Selfie with @solar-star


image.png
Selfie with @beautybb

image.png
Selfie with @samuel20 and @whitestallion enjoying goodies

image.png

SteemAlive 1 year Anniversary - 17/7/2021

What is it?

I hosted the 1 year anniversary of SteemALive community on 17th July, 2021. It was a great occassion to remember the community that has directly or indirectly helped so many Nigerian Steemians who are still active and successful on Steemit. Because of some challenges, we could not hold the anniversary on 12th of July, which was actually the date. But we were able to do it on 17th. It was a great occasion to remember.

How did it happen?

On that day, I could remember it was the first time Steemians from different parts of Nigeria came together for the very first time since recently. For example, @talktofaith came from Lagos, @bright-obais came from Umuahia, @ceendy20 came from Owerri, @ngoenyi came from Uyo, @godsbest came from Enugu, and many others I cannot mention here.

We started the occasion by me the founder, making a formal speech after a brief opening prayer. I explained how SteemAlive came about, what we have achieved, and challenges encountered. The leaders present also made speeches, advising on some of the things that should be done to move forward. We had more than enough food, and drinks to enjoy. The anniversary cake was not so good because of a challenge along the way. A time came when we even had a quick dance. It was all fun. We spent up to 3 hours together.

At the end, we shared the cake, and I distributed gifts to some of the leaders that did not leave earlier. It was a great time to be together and do amazing things as Nigerians on Steemit.

Details that made this meeting unique

  • The Venue: SteemAlive was founded in the city of Aba. i the founder, live in this city too. We have the largest training center in Nigeria, in the city of Aba. No other location would have been more fitting than hosting this great event in Aba. It made a lot of sense and we created memories together there.

  • The Old Steemians Meet: Like I said earlier, this was the very first time Steemians from all over Nigeria came together. It was amazing meeting all of them at once. For me, I have seen all individually. But some of them have not seen others for the first time, so it was a great time to see people you have been working together with in the community - in person

  • The Fun: It was not easy to quantify the fun we had. the jokes, the interaction, the ideas, the dance, and the images. It was such a great event. It motivated all of us to work harder. Today, some of those present have really gone far on Steemit.

Images from the Meetup


image.png
Opening Speech by @focusnow. - Source


image.png
L-R: @ceendy20, @ngoenyi, @focusnow, @jovita30, @ninapenda. - Source


image.png
The Leaders (L-R): @godsbest, @bright-obias, @ngoenyi, @focusnow, @whitestallion, @talktofaith. - Source


image.png
@focusnow learn to dance from @ngoenyi. - Source

Conclusion

These are the 3 major Meetings I have conducted or participated in recently. Of course there are too many others too, but these 3 are really special. I hope to organize more events very soon in the nearest future. Thank you friends for reading my entry.

I am inviting the following 3 persons to join this contest: @ijelady, @beautybb, @chichieze

Sort:  

The second @steemalive anniversary I will be there because I missed the first one and am eager to meet new people.

@beautybb. The second one will be huge!!!!!!. It won't be nice to miss it. Start preparing now. July is so close.

 2 years ago 

Hi @focusnow

Oh wow I love these meetings that you present here, they are extraordinary, it is really appreciated that everything is very organized and taking care of the details.

I congratulate you for being the organizer of these meetings in which you even start projects to encourage new ones.

I hope that as you said, the meetings continue.

Thank you for participating in this contest, I wish you much success.

...
Hi, the user focusnow jus made (in 2 month(s)):

  • CASH OUTS: 734.413 STEEM
  • POWER UPs: 2310.806 STEEM

CLUB75: Elegible. You should power up 0.000 STEEM

Thank you so much for your kind words. More meetings to come in the nearest future. We will continue doing great. Steem growth and Promotion all the way @inspiracion

I love all the meetings with steemians you have written about even though i was not present in any of them am happy they all went well.

And i must say sir you are doing amazingly well, been able to put up with all these meetings is not an easy one.

@ruthjoe. Thank you for.your kind words. Waiting to meet you someday. You come close - as close as Owerri - often. But you keep on avoiding me. I don change perfume na. Hahaha

Hahaha waiting to meet you too.

That part of you changing perfume really got me ooo.

Honestly meeting with fellow steemians is a great thing of Joy, the feeling is exceptional I wish I can meet with all steemians I will be sooo happy.

You have so many memories to keep I love the way you arranged your post that's why you are my mentor.

@beautybb. More meetings and more memories is a must. Let's keep on working harder. The future is bright for all of us

It was really wonderful event ...seeing steemians from other places one on one..,

@noma12. You wouldn't like to miss it next time, will you? Our next anniversary is on July. Keep the date

Sure I won't like to miss it......well done sir

I salute you the chief organisers of meetups and the one always looking for the opportunity to add value to steemit. Bringing new initiative that will be of benefit to all and will want none steemians to wish to be one of us. I appreciate your courage and innovative spirits. I am glad that all your plans and ideas always comes out successful.

@udyliciouz. Your words are so kind and positive. I appreciate your support too. We keep on trying our best all the time. Let's keep steeming to the moon.

Hahahaha to the moon we steem let's go....

Zooooooooooooooom!!!!!!!!

Wait first why was I not smiling in that picture?

I wouldn't know why you are not smiling even when I offered you my own rice. Oh I remember, maybe it's because of the T-shirt. You look different. @beautybb

Hahahahaha lol, you have finished the rice before I came in, it was the chicken you gave me lol

And you refused to take the chicken. Now I understand why u were angry. Hahaha. Next time your package will be complete. @beautybb

I can see myself representing well at the background. It was indeed a great meet up.
@focusnow, keep up the good work.

@luchyl. Happy you made it to the Food4thought launching. We will see more in future meetings soonest.

Wow, please I really like this learn to dance by @ngoenyi I wish I was there... Good one sir we can see the smile on their faces.

@davidalfred. Hahahaha. We enjoyed the dance and the anniversary proper. Will meet you someday, maybe not far from now. It would be amazing

I do believe so, we are also hosting ours on Sat.

I read the post over and over again, it is really interesting. The pictures are something else, they are great pictures, all I can see are happy, smiling faces. The next anniversary date is noted, I will like to meet most great steemians in person, like @ngoenyi, @ijelady, @fredquantum, @barnabie, and a host of other highly esteemed steemians.
I really commend @focusnow for your great efforts. Keep showing genuine concern for steemians welfare, we appreciate that. Best wishes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60696.91
ETH 2593.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56