SEC-S10W6 – "You also learn from mistakes"

in Steem Venezuelalast year
Hi, Steemian
Mistakes are inevitable most times. How we manage them makes a whole lot of difference.

Most people try to avoid making mistakes due to the negative consequences it brings. Others embrace their mistakes because it gives room for them to grow.

Though not all mistakes are positive, they are not to be seen as taboos either.

Today, I will share a story with you. A factual story. Please stay back and enjoy.

Oh, no!.gif

Image source

I have a flair for cooking. My best moments are when I spend time in the kitchen, alone — meaning I love cooking alone without any sought of supervision.

The first day I cooked plantain porridge, the food came out well, but with flaws. As an African child with a true African mother, I had to endure what came next.

True to my thoughts, my precious food received enough criticism.

Fun fact
If criticism were money, I would have bought a large land and erected two epic structures that day.

Though interrupted abruptly while eating, I had to listen attentively. From previous experiences, I have learned to listen whenever being reprimanded by someone, take what I needed, and keep the others somewhere as these things make people better.

Fast forward to a beautiful Saturday, a few months later.

I prepared some plantain porridge for myself since I was going to my office that day.

On my way, a friend called requesting to see me for something quite important. We agreed to meet at my workplace.

On arriving, I set down my food to eat.

In my culture, courtesy demands that you invite the next person to join the meal. So I asked him to join me and he obliged.

person-drinking-beverage-while-break-time_23-2149256890.webp

Eating with a male friend

He loved the meal and even requested more, lol. I felt proud of myself. If I hadn't made that mistake and learned from it, maybe that day would have gone bad.

I learned that making a mistake doesn't make me a failure, it all depends on my reaction to the mistake. I would love to advise my fellow Steemians to always learn from every mistake and implement what they learned as this is the best way to handle a mistake.


Have you learnt something from my story. If, yes, share your thoughts with. I'll invite you, @ukpono, @yhudy and @bossj23 to join this engagement challenge.

Post published on July 11, 2023
Contest Organiser: @teamvenezuela
Link: Here
Deadline: July 16, 2023

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

"...making a mistake doesn't make me a failure, but my reaction or response to it..." This is beautifully crafted. Keep it up dear.
Thanks for the invite.

However, instead of feeling discouraged, I took it as an opportunity to improve. I learned from my mistakes and continued to experiment in the kitchen, honing my skills and creating delicious dishes.

 last year 

@ahbaz, This would be the amount of criticism they made to you that day, that if they were exchanged for money you could have even built a house.

Well, you didn't build a house, but from that day on, I imagine you thought for sure that he wouldn't criticize me anymore because I'm going to put my heart into learning to cook.

Something that you fulfilled although you did not know it, since by chance offering food to your friend he highlighted the rich flavor of your food.

Something that was a source of joy and inspiration for you since you are now a great cook as a result of that mistake you made in your childhood.

I say goodbye wishing you have a happy day.

CriteriaStatusRate
Status Club
#club5050
1/2
Steem Exclusive
1/1
Plagiarism Free
1/1
BOT Free
1/1
Quality of content
2/3
Markdowns
2/2
Total
8/10
Support null 25%
**✅ **
Verification date:
Julio 11, 2022

Hello dear friend, greetings to you. Hope you are doing well and good.

Failure should not be considered as taboo in our society. You are very true dear. We should appreciate other mistakes or failure so they don't lose hope. For me I think failure is the first step toward success.

If criticism were money, I would have bought a large land and erected two epic structures that day.

You are true dear. People do very useless criticism. We should ignore them and move on in our life.

True! Failure is a step to success. Thank you for engaging.

I understand the criticism of an African mother, lol. You did the right thing by learning from it.

Thank you for the invite.

Thank you for engaging.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60881.23
ETH 2600.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56