Making Papaya Habenero Pepper Jam - Recipe included. Yesterday's post..

in Actifit3 years ago

I got up early, drank my normal 2 cups of coffee and did my normal chores and was all ready to make 3 different kinds of jams.

I pulled out the papaya out of the freezer to thaw a bit, got all my equipment out and then drug out my fruit jars.

After that, I stated pulling out the ingredients. I only had half the organic sugar I needed so I started digging in my supplies. Ugg no more sugar. Then I remembered I had 2 packages of expensive Monk Fruit P.owder. Okay that should work. I really don't wanna drive to Kona the get more.

Well I get my jam going added the sugar and the Monk Fruit and later the pectin. It was only supposed to take 8 minutes to thicken but after doing a cold water test, I decided to add more pectin. Still runny.. So I went to grab a lemon but no more lemons but I had lots of limes. So I added lime juice. Still not thick enough. After all, I had put 4 times the ingredients that the recipe calls for. Make a huge batch, then I don't have to remake it again for awhile.

Well after boiling it for almost 45 minutes I was finally satisfied with the the consistency.

By the time I got the jam poured in the jars, it was getting close to sundown and I didn't want to use up my solar. I still needed to print out my labels and cut them, the place on too of the lids. The laminator also uses a lot of power, so decided to save that for the next day. I needed the power to catch up on the news and maybe find a good movie. Lol

Here is the basic recipe for making pepper jams.

Ingredients:

2 cups of chopped fruit

2 cups of hot peppers

6 1/2 cups of sugar

1 1/2 cups vinegar

1/4 cup fruit pectin

Directions:

In a medium saucepan, combine first 4 Ingredients (including the seeds)

Bring to rolling boil for 2 minutes, reduce heat to low, simmer for 2 min.

Turn heat back on high until reaches full rolling boil and then gradually add pectin.
Cook for 8 minutes. Pour into hot canning jars leaving 1/4 inch headspace.

Wipe down any spills on the top where they lid sits. Place lids and rings on ensuring the ring is right. After you take your jars out if the water bath, let them cool on the counter. You can tell if it's sealed or not by pressing your finger in the top of the lid. If when you push down the lid and it don't move, it's sealed. If it still has a bubble in it, take the lid if and ensure there is no specks of jam on the ring. You may have a kid that won't seal, if so place a new one one and give it another water bath. If your rings are not right, the jam will bubble onto the rims of the lid. Also you cannot reseal old lids, so make sure you use new ones.

Mahalo and thank you for your support.


This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


5004
Daily Activity, House Chores, Photowalking, Shopping, Walking

Sort:  

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have been rewarded 39.4475 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 5004 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received a 1.22% upvote via @actifit account.


Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count, recent rewarded activity and owned AFITX.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT and AFITX tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is a Hive Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54158.26
ETH 2857.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01