Mi reporte de Actifict: diciembre 6 2022

in Actifit2 years ago

The evening of December 5 brought the news. Ronaldo Veitía died. And the harsh headline is true, although many always harbored the hope that his return to Havana last October, after a long hospital period in Spain, would return him more life and health to see 2023 arrive.

But his body did not resist. For those of us who knew him, we know that the loss of his wife Mercedes a year ago affected him greatly. In the end, with 75 years completed, Veitía raised a story full of lights, iPhones, and also logical shadows that all human beings carry when they are so many years in front of a task.

He led Jewish women for over 30 years. He savored the pleasure of giving Cuba five Olympic champions and 10 silvers and an equal number of bronzes in the events of the five rings. He even had the privilege of leading the victory for countries in Sydney 2000 when no one thought that a nation of America, poor and underdeveloped, could do it against Japanese, Chinese, French and company.

Also at the level of world championships he sowed a trail of podiums that reached 16 golds, 15 silvers and 27 bronze. I do not detail the Pan American and Central American titles because from 1987 until his retirement in 2015 he always returned with his girls at the top. He worked like a consecrated man and for that he deserved those medals and the Title of Hero of the Work of the Republic of Cuba.

Everyone will be able to have thousands of good, bad and regular anecdotes to tell from Today. However, in a moment of pain and sincere sadness, one of the many that I lived in more than 20 years of journalism would suffice. It happened when he asked me to write the prologue to one of his latest books. He told me things about his parents Oscar and Zenaida, about whom he was never used to speaking fluently.
“I learned from my dad that nothing is more important in life than having discipline. From my mom that I would never be disciplined if I didn't work with faith. That's why I tried to instill in each team discipline and work. I was wrong many times and I lived great moments, but on one occasion they gave me the best teaching in life.
“I told them that I wanted to quit judo and concentrate on helping them at home to work, to earn money. Oscar got up and told me "training has no fraud”. Zenaida got up from the table and gave me another phrase: “The champion is distinguished even in walking.” The two ideas I assumed from that moment until the last day that it is my turn to be on earth.”
This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


06/12/2022
20350
Artes marciales
Height
175 cm
Weight
83 kg
Body Fat
%
Waist
cm
Thighs
cm
Chest
cm

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57419.72
ETH 2441.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41