Moving Towards WASM | Final Stages Of Steem Poll Development

in Steemit Dev Group3 years ago (edited)

Hi all. Some of you might already know about the Steem Poll project that I have been working on for the past month and a half. Over the last weekend, I made a critical decision to move to a WASM build for the final product. Yes, I know this migration over from the traditional server-based backend is a bit too late. However, I believe this move would help me operate SteemPoll without having to go overboard with the server where it's hosted.

Let me explain this further.


image.png
This is what the current UI looks like. The release UI would be a bit different with a few more options

What does WASM have to do with the Server specs?

With the new developments happening on SteemPoll, all computations and processing would not go to a backend server. However, the entire application binaries would be loaded onto your local browser and all the transactions would happen right from the browser.

This means that once the website is loaded for the first time, all further navigation and actions would happen at a much higher speed as everything that the DApp needs is already downloaded in your browser.

The servers that I already manage are either here in India or are hosted in Europe(Germany and Finland). The latency involved when someone from the US requests some data from the Indian server is a bit too high. With WASM, this entire situation is eliminated.

The initial MVP of Steem Poll will only have a few WS communications happening with the server. However, moving forward, I would also have some data specific to SteemPoll also in my own servers and not the Steem nodes. I will elaborate more on that once those are in place and are as performant as I would want them to be.

Another reason to be moving to WASM:

Everything I build over here is the tools/tech that I actually find cool to use myself. WASM is something I was looking at for a long time but never got time to use it anywhere. However, since SteemPoll is a complete redesign of the old DPoll on .NET 6, I thought of giving it a go anyways.

When is SteemPoll being released?

My very first tool here on Steem was released back on December 31st, 2020. So, this is a special day for me. I would try my best to deploy SteemPoll on December 31st, 2021. However, if things go sideways or if some other work comes up(At my office) I would move the release to the weekends. So, the worst-case scenario for the release of the MVP of SteemPoll would be Jan 2nd, 2022(4 days from today).

CC:
@steemcurator01
@steemitblog

Also, I would like to thank all my supporters who have voted for me as their witness. If you do want to support my work further(and haven't voted me yet), please do consider voting me as your witness by heading over to https://steemitwallet.com/~witnesses and voting starlord28 as your witness. Currently, I'm ranked 47 on this list.

Sort:  

Congratulations on being a runner-up in the Steemit Awards 2021...

This post has been featured in the latest edition of Steem News...

I have included this post in the 29th issue of Steem News Magazine For Steemit Platform | December 31, 2021.

Our support as witness.

Gave my witness vote for you. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63491.17
ETH 2618.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79