You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Programming Diary #7: Browser extension updates to activate when scrolling and show color gradients

in Steemit Dev Group2 years ago

Could you make a plugin for dumb users? So that it can be installed with one click :-)

Sort:  

Maybe. I am thinking I might put it up on github this weekend and then explore getting it published in the chrome store.

This is what I wanted to hear :-) Thank you.

2 years later, I finally opened the github repo to the public. It's here. ChatGPT made it easy to write a decent README file with installation instructions, which was the only thing that was holding me up.

No idea if/when I'll get around to learning about publishing in official stores, so it's not "one click", but hopefully these instructions aren't too complicated.

cc: @moecki as FYI that the repo is public now.

image.png

It works perfectly. 🤗

Excellent! I am sorry that it took so long. I really should have done that sooner.

I have one request. Your browser extension is a great helper for the curator. It would be invaluable if it also highlighted the posts that voting services vote for. Is it possible to do this, or is it a very labor-intensive solution?

I took a look at the web site tonight with the react developers extension (which I just learned about). I think the list of voters is only available after clicking into the post to pick out the voting services and only if they're in the top-20 voters. Unfortunately, I don't think the data is available at the feed level or if the voting service is not in the 20 highest valued voters.

I could query the API for more info, but I think that would generate too much network traffic, so, it's looking like this can only be implemented after clicking into the post. Unless @moecki or @the-gorilla know something that I don't know???

Incidentally, I also updated the Steem Curation Extension tonight so that we don't have to click or scroll to activate the highlighting any more. Now the highlighting gets activated as soon as the page loads.

Without having looked at the code, unfortunately I have to agree with you. The data are limited at the level of the rendered page.
Perhaps that wouldn't be a problem either, as the voting services are usually in the top 20.

I can't say at the moment whether more data are available after clicking on the post. I'll have to check.

Well, if there is no quick and easy solution, then perhaps it is not worth wasting time and resources.

Often I try to find new interesting authors. To do this, I go to the main page and look at all the posts. It would be great if the plugin highlighted posts supported by the voting service. It would save me time. But if it's hard to do, I still have one solution - @the-gorilla's alternative interface. There are no bot-voted posts.

I could query the API for more info, but I think that would generate too much network traffic, so, it's looking like this can only be implemented after clicking into the post. Unless @moecki or @the-gorilla know something that I don't know???

When thinking about the data available, I'm reminded of how I implemented bot use in my interface. I didn't loop through the posts to see who had voted on them but instead keep a dynamically updated file that checks who has delegated to the well-known voting bots and check against this. Because some posts can have over 1,000 votes, checking every vote for every post feels huge.

I think that should be possible. I don't think I'll have time to look at it this weekend, but I'll try for next weekend.

Thank you, this is very good news. And thank you for your work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66478.29
ETH 3594.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.95