You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 0000000000000111 - Proposal to Change Focus

I don't think the game itself would be very complex based upon the 3 components I mention. Submitting a post into a database would be easy to write. Presenting it to the user would also be straightforward. And generating a report based upon the votes would be fairly easy too. There's a little complexity in creating the player reputation but a simple model where it starts at 25, increases by 1 with each "win", decreases by 5 with each "attempted cheat" and decreases by 1 with each "loss" - and a similar rating system with people who submit posts would be ok to start with. Logins will be the user's Steemit username and Posting Key (with the key not stored anywhere) so authentication will be easy too.

The rewards are the difficult bit which is where I thought that piggy-backing on the steemcurator04-08 initiative could work well (as it would also hide the "winners"). The rewards could work similarly to TipU, bitSports or other "games" where the rewards are linked to the post value (in this case, the reporting posts sharing details of abuse). This would also "incentivise" people to upvote the reports so that the reward pool for playing the game would be higher.

Another other option, is if we can get access to the funds within steem.dao which have been accumulating. A proposal to reward users who fight against plagiarism via this method could be made and if approved, could provide a constant source of funds that can be split amongst players (5 or 10 SBD per day for example).

In this case, the more players the play, the better (in my opinion) as there'd be a stronger consensus of opinion, increasing awareness of abusive users and increased probability of community taking action. Which in the long term should reduce abuse.

Sort:  

I must admit, the implementation of your plan would probably completely solve the issue of plagiarism and fraud on the platform, or rather reduce it to an acceptable level. I think you can combine these two projects into one and you do not need to make a choice.

As for funding, I do not believe that DAO will be open. Alternatively, the fight against plagiarism can be financed through beneficial payments to members of the platform.

Bid bots were mentioned here in the comments. If the Steemit team was against bid bots, they could use DAO funds to lower the price of SBD and increase the price of STEEM. This would make buying votes less profitable, or unprofitable at all. Although this will not affect those who delegate their SP to bid bots. I think the Steemit team is afraid to touch the bots in order not to provoke a massive Power Down and outflow of users, and thus the possible death of the platform. So I also had to come to terms with this phenomenon.

It also crossed my mind that as the owner of any new front end, I could hide all of the content from users that people are fed up with seeing (whether that's plagiarists, spammers, other abusers) so that the new site is clean and hides all of the crap that people get annoyed and demotivated by. This would be totally subjective with me as the sole arbitrator 🤣

I fully trust your views and advise to make as many changes as possible without undue discussion, because people will always have different opinions.

By the way, did you get information about Steemit.com traffic? We once talked about it.

So I also had to come to terms with this phenomenon.

Same here. Upvoting services like Tipu allow users with little power to get big upvotes - making it harder to stop (until ac-cheetah became so powerful). UpVu presents a different challenge as the delegations to it mean that users can't upvote each other so if everybody did it (and why wouldn't they?) then there's little incentive to engage with other users or post anything at all. You could probably work out what percentage of Steem is currently with voting bots and I wouldn't be surprised if this percentage continues to increase whilst users reinvest their profit.

I fully trust your views

Thanks. I'm not sure that I trust them 🤣

did you get information about Steemit.com traffic?

Sadly not. I asked and my request was ignored. Which makes me wonder if whoever has the login details was in the original Steemit team that left a couple of years ago.

You could probably work out what percentage of Steem is currently with voting bots and I wouldn't be surprised if this percentage continues to increase whilst users reinvest their profit.

I plan to make a new calculation and compare with the previous one. I am sure that voting bots will increase their dominance.

Sadly not. I asked and my request was ignored.

I hope you include Google Analytics code in your new interface, although it may slow down the page load by a few milliseconds.

Because so many users on Steemit and the like value their anonymity, I think there'll be an unusually high number that use Brave or a browser that prevents tracking of their activity so I'll probably need some fairly decent server logging instead (or as well). I've not really thought about tracking yet so will need to think about what information would be useful to collect and why.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45