Unique find for SteemGeography 🌎 // Nomination from @sampu // Chatakpur Eco Village - A date with the Kanchenjungha

in SaturdayMemories3 years ago

I will always cherish my memory of waking up from sleep, slide the curtains from the window pane and greeted by snow-capped mount Kanchenjungha..

IMG_20201227_064150.jpg

Location : Chatakpur, India.
Date of photography : 27-Dec-2020.
Time of photography : 06:41:50 am.
Device Name : Asus Max Pro M1.
Focal Length : 3.52mm.
Exposure time : 1/227.
ISO : 100.
Flash : No.

I miss the mornings when I used to sit in front of the homestay, and sip original Darjeeling tea slowly watching the mountain changes it's color from white to saffron to red and finally yellow..

I remember those days when I used to have my breakfast with luchi-sabzi-mithai (indian fried breat, mixed vegetables and sweets) and watch the himalayan peaks joining me..

IMG_20201226_105125.jpg

Location : Chatakpur, India.
Date of photography : 26-Dec-2020.
Time of photography : 10:51:25 am.
Device Name : Asus Max Pro M1.
Focal Length : 3.52mm.
Exposure time : 1/1376.
ISO : 100.
Flash : No.

I still remember, post breakfast, I used to take out my favorite novel from my rucksack and read it sitting in comfortable sunlight while the homestay pet-dog is playing with me..

I miss the time when I complete my lunch with rice, lentil-soup, organic mixed vegetables, egg curry and locally made bamboo-pickle when the mountain is playing hide-and-seek with me using the cloud..

IMG-20201228-WA0023.jpg

I still cherish those afternoons, when I used to go for a walk in nearby pine-forest, sit there for hours, holding hand of my partner in light-and-shadow..

How can I forget the evenings when I'm standing in the view-point, watching the sun setting down gradually while holding a glass of coffee and occasionally taking the warmth in one cheek, while wind is chilling the other..

I still remember coming out from the dining room after completing the dinner with roti-sabzi-chicken (indian flat-bread, organic vegetables curry, local chicken curry) and surprised with millions of stars visible in clear sky as there was no pollution..

IMG-20201228-WA0020.jpg

I remember every moments spent in Chatakpur Eco Village. It is a small village inside the Senchal forest, Darjeeling district in India.


How to reach Chatakpur:
The nearest airport is Bagdogra (IXB). The nearest railway station is New Jalpaiguri. From railway station or airport, you can avail a car / bus to reach Sonada.

From Sonada, Chatakpur is 7km uphill. A SUV car with 4 wheel drive can be reserved from Sonada to reach Chatakpur. This 7km can also be trekked. A local guide is mandatory for trek as the entire route is through dense forest.

Google Map :
https://maps.app.goo.gl/73NM1uJpVJ8LtQRk9



Where to stay
There is no modern hotel. There are few homestays in the village managed by the villagers with homemade food, basic room with comfortable bed with clean linen and blankets, western toilet with geyser.


Best time to visit : November to March.


My sincere thanks to @olga.maslievich for hosting this contest. I have re-steemed this contest. You can also click the below link to participate in the contest-
https://steemit.com/hive-189569/@olga.maslievich/contest-unique-find-for-steemgeography-winners-and-the-beginning-of-fourth-week


Screenshot_2021-06-25-00-08-39-463_com.android.chrome.jpg

Sort:  

After reading your article, I really felt your wonderful feelings that you felt in this eco village! Thank you @sampu, for great story.

Many thanks @olga.maslievich for your appreciation.

Feeling good that you liked my writing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54461.78
ETH 2294.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28