The most memorable adventure of our summer!

in SaturdayMemories3 years ago
Wonderful tuesday afternoon everyone and to all members of these community . Hope everybody is doing good and fine and coping up with our recent situation.

Well this is me again @jenny018 from the beautiful island of the Philippines specifically Cebu, Philippines.

It's my 2nd time being here in #SaturdayMemories and my 1st time in here is a beautiful idea for I thought I don't have so much to share in the community and specially on the contest being made by our dearest founder and initiator of the contest @olga.maslievich which is the #UniqueFindforSteemGeography but thankfully my entry has been appreciated and is being rewarded on the 3rd place in the last week's contest. Sadly that was my 1st and last entry for it has ended it's season already but for sure every beautiful end has a wonderful beginning too maybe not today but someday soon in God's perfect time and place.

Today I would be sharing to you my most memorable summer vacation with the whole gang specifically my kids. Since last year is a no good for vacation because of the pandemic that we are facing until now so I'll be sharing you our last 3 years summer vacation in my mother-in-law's hometown.

IMG_20210706_124621.jpg

My supposedly mother-in-law and now my ex-mom at the moment but still she see's me as her daughter even if her son and me has part our ways together still she loves me as her own daughter, she actually lives in a mountainous area in the Southern part of Cebu which is Argao. Actually I grow up in the city but I love being in the province since my mom's birthplace is in the northern part of Cebu also which is also a mountainous province and we often go there for a vacation up until now even if we all lived in the city now we still find time to visit there at our convenience time.
So it's no wonder my kids love going on a vacation there because the place is really a wonderful place for distressing and actually it's their reward everytime the school year ends to give them off for school works and free their minds and give them time to play and explore and also to have a little bond with their grandmother who we don't happen to see everyday because of the distance.

IMG_20210706_123549.jpg

It's not really easy going there in my mother-in-law's hometown since it is a very mountainous area and we need to have a long ride just to reached there. This is actually the way to my mom's house, you have to walked too long and it's very dangerous because along the side is very deep wherein if you stepped in wrong you might fall under so we need to be careful but for my kids it's very easy for them to do so they have so much energy and they don't easily get tired like me.
IMG_20210706_124525.jpg

When we reached there, my mom's place was near a river stream so they'd enjoy running here and there while playing with the water.

IMG_20210706_123647.jpg

Before their main source of water is a spring that mainly comes from the roots of the tree and its a new experience for us because in the city we do all instantly, we have water source wherein faucets are everywhere connected so no problem when it comes to water but in my mom's house we have to fetched water from her house up to their source of water. And they have a semi pool look like so the kids really did enjoy bathing there for actually its a new thing for them.
IMG_20210706_124549.jpg

My mom is a very good and hardworking farmer for even if she only lives there alone by her own but she was able to plant a lot of crops, one of those are tomatoes, string beans, squash, potatoes and many more to mention and also she has fruit trees in her garden too there are bananas, papaya, but most of her trees are coconuts as she is surrounded by it.

IMG_20210706_124649.jpg

We even helped her in harvesting the tomatoes for we need to picked them all because its harvest time already.
My children love their stay there and same with mom she enjoyed being with her grandchildren too. It's like a bonding for they were able to help mom in their little ways.

IMG_20210706_124443.jpg

Planting alone is very hard but when you see the result on it you will surely appreciate the hardwork you have made. They are actually picking what's to be sold and what's not. The good tomatoes will be sent to the market and no good will be used for their consumption so its still a big used for mama though.

IMG_20210706_124422.jpg

Looking on her trees, this one is a dwarf coconut tree its as tall as my kid and we truly are amazed because in the city you can't see like these because mostly coconut trees are very tall unlike what my mom's coconut tree its very easy for you to get if you like to drink water from the coconut you can easily get it without you needing to climbed it.
Same with her papaya fruit as you can see in the picture it's really beautiful seeing as beautiful as like these. The fruits are very healthy they grow as big as they wanted to be. Even if its still green but you can barely appreciate the beauty in it, if it's not just heavy bringing it in the city then I'll surely bring some of those.

IMG_20210706_123623.jpg

IMG_20210701_112013-01.jpeg

Lastly my mom has no problem with grains of rice for she plants on her own. She does not have to buy from the market because she has already for consumption. Life in the province is hard but my mom takes it easily for she knows that if you just work hard you will surely reap what you have sow.

IMG_20210706_124724.jpg

On our five days of short vacation, I know its not enough but giving time for my children to be happy and spending a little of their time with their grandmother is such a rewarding feeling for me, I know I don't give so much time for them for I am also busy with work but to be able to give them time to relaxed a bit and let them enjoy being a kid is a great feeling for a mom like me and its a way to escape from the busy life of the city too. They are able to breath fresh air and eat fresh fruits and vegetables too and even drink water that has no chemicals too so at least they are able to experienced it.
IMG_20210706_124352.jpg
IMG_20210706_124131.jpg

I hope I don't bore you with what I am telling on our summer experience. I know it's not the usual type for everybody wants a vacation specifically in the beach but for us we love going back to the place where we belong.
Good day,God Bless and keep safe always.

Lala @jenny018😘

Sort:  

Hello ate lalah @jenny018. Life must go on, and just keep on fighting, right?...
Anyway, you made a great post, I'm almost in tears, but be happy as always no matter what. ❤
I love papaya, give me one,, hehe,, and oh,, those bananas and bibingka, I miss all of that.
But, for you to be more energetic then, please make your entry now with this, just open the link below:
https://steemit.com/hive-197809/@vik24/contest-best-curator-week-1-july-4-july-11

Thank you as always bata. Thanks for curating my post I know that you have been a good friend to me since time immemorial. HHahhabaaa..anyways I forever be grateful for believing in me.

as always ate lalah, you really deserve it. ❤

Salamat...,😘😘😘

Oh, dear @jenny018. I read your story with interest. It's so cute that your ex-mother-in-law is so kind to you. You have a good place to relax with your children. I really like coconut, but I buy only in the supermarket :)
Write in a week the next unforgettable adventure)

Yeah we still keep a close relationship, she's really good to me since then and she oftens tell me that we can visit her anytime we want.
There are coconut plantation in my mother's place surely you'll enjoy it there and the coconut there is very cheap. If you have a $1 you can buy 1 and 1/2 dozens of coconut. That's very affordable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62938.49
ETH 2469.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62