CONTEST!!! Unique find for SteemGeography 🌎 [ The ever famous MaCtan Shrine/ Liberty Shrine]

in SaturdayMemories3 years ago (edited)

Great and wonderful day everybody. It is such an honor to be taking part on your contest which is the #UniqueFindForSteemGeography and I would like to congratulate Ms @olga.maslievich for a wonderful contest that she is initiating and it has even reached on it's 4th week already so that is really awesome.

I have always been wanting to join on your contest but sadly I don't have much to offer especially that I don't travel much for I have limitations, I have little kids and nobody can take good care of them while I'm away so most of my travel pictures is around my city and most of them are in the beach because my children loves going in the beach.
But anyways, I guess this one will qualify in the contest which tackles #steemgeography.

Introducing one of the famous and favorite spot of the tourist when they visit Lapu-Lapu City which is formerly known as Opon, is the ever famous Mactan Shrine or Liberty Shrine.
Location: https://w3w.co/handwriting.weekend.tech

Screenshot_2021-06-25-07-32-21-95.jpg

IMG_20210625_072819.jpg

Screenshot_2021-06-25-07-33-26-65.jpg

Lapu-Lapu City is said to be the 1st class highly urbanized city in Central Visayas, a region in the Philippines. The city is named after our greatest hero of the Philippines which is Lapu-Lapu and is being titled also as the "Historic Resort City" this is because we "Oponganon's" are proud of the illustrious past and also this is a way to attract tourists who has great interests in history and beaches because that's what we are famous for.

IMG_20210625_071509.jpg

IMG_20210625_071349.jpg

IMG_20210625_071556.jpg

Mactan Shrine is said to be the "memorial park of the island". It has two monuments actually, the Magellan's monument which is in honor to the Portuguese explorer who is the 1st one who introduced Christianity in the country. Recently, we have just celebrated our 500th year of Christianity in Lapu-Lapu. This was built late 1866.
IMG_20210625_071719.jpg

Screenshot_2021-06-25-07-32-21-95.jpg

The second monument is the "Lapu-Lapu bronze statue" which commemorates the greatest leader who defended our island from the portuguese explorer Ferdinand Magellan.

IMG_20210625_072213.jpg

IMG_20210625_071749.jpg

The place speaks so much of the great history that happened long before and we are very proud that we Oponganon's are able to preserved the natural beauty of the place even if there's a lot of new development in the area still the place looks as is before.
Mactan Shrine is a great place for family bonding too because of a very spacious area where children can play, run anywhere without any inhibitions and we can also have picnics in here too as long as you don't throw thrash anywhere. The place is very free no need for any amount because this is exactly for public used and everybody can roam around the whole place. This is a great tourists spot and I'm proud to say that Lapu-Lapu is not just reach in culture but also in history and in beautiful beaches too.

Please feel free to visit anytime you want, but now since we are not allowed to travel far well just include this on your bucket lists.

I would like to say thank you to my dearest friends @hae-ra and @fruityapple00 who is very active in joining this contest and who keeps inviting me to join, now I'm dropping my entry and hope you enjoy reading my entry.
Thank you so much. Good day, God bless and keep safe always.

Lala @jenny018

Sort:  

Hala wow,,,, 🙊🙊

Thank you @jenny018, for showing a wonderful historical place. I will definitely include this in the list of future places to visit.

I would love to tour you around here too ma'am @olga.maslievich in God's perfect time. Thanks also for the very wonderful contest hope to join more contest in your community.

que hermoso lugar!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64668.46
ETH 3173.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58