My First Snow Experience in Japan: Discovering Hachimangu Shrine

in Traveling Steemyesterday

Japan’s winter landscape has always fascinated me, and experiencing my first snow fall in Morioka, Iwate Prefecture is like stepping into my dream. I’ve been living in Japan for almost 5 years but last year 2023 was my first snow fall experience in Japan. Why? That’s the thing I need to explain. Okay! When I came here in Japan I was living on an Island where it never snowed for 3 years. Right after my 3 years contract on the island I really decided to move to a place where I can experience snow fall because that’s the main reason why I pursue my dream working here in Japan. As someone living in a tropical country which is the Philippines I have always longed to experience the beauty and magic of snow fall. That’s why right after 3 years I was landed in other Prefecture which is the Morioka the capital city of Iwate Prefecture located in the Tohoku region found in Northern part of Japan.

IMG_5961.jpeg

IMG_5958.jpeg

One of my most memorable parts of living in Morioka was visiting the Hachimangu Shrine during winter season. It is a historic and culturally significant site and it is the Prefecture’s largest shrine. As I made my way going to the shrine, I was astonished by the beauty of the snow that covered the path and the serene silence of the surroundings made my journey feel almost sacred. Even though it was very cold I didn’t mind and enjoyed exploring the shrine. As I got closer, I saw the torii gate covered in snow and I was overwhelmed with excitement. (Torii gate is a traditional Japanese gate most commonly found at the entrance of the shrine.)

IMG_9609.jpeg

IMG_6072.jpeg

IMG_6085.jpeg

As I entered the shrine, I was greeted by a breathtaking scene. The shrine buildings adorned with Japanese architecture that also covered with a layer of snow. The Hachimangu shrine, painted in brightly colored vermilion and decorated with carvings of paulownia flowers, the prefectural flower, has become a familiar face of Morioka.

IMG_6127.jpeg

IMG_6046.jpeg

I observed visitors performing traditional rituals, offering prayers, and making wishes at the ema wooden plaques display. As a first-timer, I observed the other visitors performing the ritual and followed their lead to learn how it’s done. It was truly amazing to witnessed their tradition.

IMG_9607.jpeg

IMG_9610.jpeg

As I wandered through the shrine, I found many interesting and captivating spots. I was amazed by every spot and it felt like a dream come true me, and I felt like my inner child was being healed.

IMG_9608.jpeg

IMG_9613.jpeg

IMG_9614.jpeg

Visiting Morioka Hachimangu Shrine during my first snow experience in Japan was an unforgettable adventure. The combination of natural beauty, cultural immersion, and the serene atmosphere of the shrine made it a truly magical experience. As I left the shrine and walked back through the snow-covered streets, I felt a deep sense of peace and gratitude for the moments I had spent in this enchanting winter wonderland. I Hope I can visit this place again :)

Sort:  


Hello there, you have posted a great quality post and we are happy to support you, stay up with good quality publications

Curated by : @enamul17

 yesterday 

Thank you so much. I’ll definitely be posting more.

You have used burnsteem25 tag but not set 25% beneficiary to null account. You must set 25% beneficiary otherwise you cannot use this tag.

 yesterday 

Noted on this. Will do that next time

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @scilwa, which is a curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community. We can also be found on our hive community & peakd as well as on my Discord Server

Manually curated by @ abiga554
r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Felicitaciones, su publication ha sido votado por @scilwa. También puedo ser encontrado en nuestra comunidad de colmena y Peakd así como en mi servidor de discordia

Oh my goodness..... and she is still prancing and dancing around in a mini skirt, lol - are you crazy girl @mercy11 LOL!

How lovely it looks!!! Snow has something just magical about it really - not that I have much experience with it either. It does not really snow here, except much higher up on the mountains - though that does seem to be changing as the years go on.

I have only ever been to see (and touch) the snow, once in my lifetime. It was a three hour drive to get there... we walked around in the snow, I lost my vape cigarette, my son lost two of his toy cars and we built a snowman and then left because we could no longer feel our toes haha! It was fun though - and so beautiful!!!

I can see from the photos how much you cherished this experience. It is the "little things" that make the best memories :)

 17 hours ago 

I’m wearing heattech leggings though 😁

I completely agree, the “little things” really do create the best memories. Thank you for sharing your experience too, it’s lovely to hear from someone who appreciates the snow as much as I do!

I’m wearing heattech leggings though 😁

Well thats a relief, lol!

I completely agree, the “little things” really do create the best memories. Thank you for sharing your experience too, it’s lovely to hear from someone who appreciates the snow as much as I do!

My pleasure @mercy11 :) I appreciate ALL nature! Our lives would be so much emptier without it. I try not to take it for granted.

 17 hours ago 

Thank you.

 14 hours ago 

Wat a nice experience sis. I love it! Keep writing!

Loading...

Thanks for sharing such awesome content
@mercy11!
It has been featured in
THIS BLOG SPOTLIGHT POST!

You will receive 10% of the rewards
earned on that curation post.

We have also given you an upvote and a resteem!

steemitbloggers gif 1.gif
An initiative by @jaynie

Please feel free to show your support to this initiative as well as to the authors featured within!

HAVE AN AMAZING DAY!

 1 hour ago 

Thank you 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60535.76
ETH 2598.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54