TRAVEL BLOG 1// Akwa Ibom to Port Harcourt

in Traveling Steem6 days ago (edited)
Greetings Steem travelers! Welcome to my travel blog. This summer, I will be embarking on a trip to some states in Nigeria. My first stop is Rivers State. It is home to the famous city Port Harcourt.

IMG_20240809_100434_008.jpg

This is not my first time in Port Harcourt. I was there some nine years ago and I was way younger. This time, I get to see it well.

Packing was a big challenge for me. I am not used to traveling for a long period. I had to carry a lot of clothes, but my aunty assisted me. We packed the night before. I barely had enough rest. We then headed to the park.

The journey to Port Harcourt began at 11:35 am. It is supposed to be a two and a half hour trip. But the reality was far from that. The journey actually took five hours.We started our journey on a good note. Everything started smoothly not until the bus got stuck in a mud. Everyone got down and some passengers began to push the bus. Unfortunately, that was not the only setback.

IMG_20240809_132618_109.jpg

After about an hour, the vehicle came to a sudden stop. All efforts to start the engine proved abortive. Apparently, the bus has a problem with its fuel pump. And we were stuck in the middle of nowhere. After about 30 minutes, the vehicle started again.

We went on and most passengers started complaining. The driver said that he had complained but nothing was done about it. The elderly woman sitting beside me, started calling her relations. She told them that she is in the bush 🤣. She asked them to come and pick her up. She made a lot of calls which made us laugh. She said that since she has been plying that route, she had never experienced anything like that. Truth be told, she eased the tension throughout the entire journey.

We still had other stops we made during the journey. It got so bad that we were literally moving in a series of move and stop. It sounds so funny now, but trust me, it was very devastating. This made the journey not interesting. The journey took longer than it should have.

Against all hurdles, we finally arrived Port Harcourt. I was surprised by a number of things. First, the roads were wider. The local market had a lot of people. I saw a number of bus stops. Also, they were a lot of people on the street. Coming from a small city like Uyo, you would notice these differences. I would not be honest if I do not mention that there was a lot of trash on the median of the road. The smell was terrible. Aside that, Port Harcourt is a beautiful city.

The bus stopped at Oil Mill and we waited for our host. While waiting, we decided to take few pictures.

IMG_20240809_165512_284.jpg

IMG_20240809_165227_515.jpg

At last, our host arrived and we headed home. The journey was not easy but when you are traveling on a Nigerian road, what do you expect.
      Thank you for reading to the end
    All photos are exclusive to Steem

        Watch out for my next blog
Sort:  
 6 days ago 

Hello traveler! 👋🏼

Thanks for sharing your post in the TS Community. Here you are the feedback and evaluation results:


AI/Plagiarism free☑️
Steemexclusive☑️
Club5050☑️
Free bots☑️
Voting CSI > 13.6☑️

~ Join the Discord server + Telegram group and have a happy day.👍🏼



Curated by @benoitblanc

Thank you for the review
I appreciate the support

 5 days ago 

Wonderful journey my friend, I reside in Portharcourt.

Thank you
That is cool
I really enjoyed my stay in Port Harcourt

 4 days ago 

Oh you have left?

Yes, I have
Watch out for my travel blogs

 3 days ago 

Any I was also aware you were going to different states and decided to start with Portharcourt.

Hi, @khayjhay,

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.


- Explore Steem using our Steem Blockchain Explorer
- Easily create accounts on Steem using JoinSteem
- Delegate to @ecosynthesizer and wtiness vote @symbionts to support us.

It is my pleasure
I am looking forward to making more contributions

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60340.70
ETH 2597.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53