SEC-S18W4 | My worst holiday travel memory | [Balasore to Howrah journey by Train].

in Traveling Steem2 months ago

Greetings! Friends of Steemit and Traveling Steem

Power was out in November 1965 for 25 million people that inspired to make the popular film "Where Were You When the Lights Went Out"?

train-3803_256.gifPixabay

Yes I also experienced same situation in mid nineties when I was returning from Balasore to Kolkata by Super fast Dhauli express as I did every weekend. The distance was 252 Km by train. It was a journey for weekend holidaying at home. I was Normally returning with one of my colleague and few contractors at our factory site. The train reached Kharagpur at right time i.e, 7 PM. We used to strech ourselves at kharagpur platform. It is such a station which never become familiar because it has a longest platform of the world. Mainly because of its length one wants to see it physically. But hardly anybody can find time to do that.

train-6738_256.gifPixabay

The train was unusually delayed. The signal was red. Anyways we become busy in playing cards. So far I remember there was light in the compartment and platform. Situation become bad to worst. All Hawkers including train pantry staff disappeared. There was no tea or snaks. Only platform tap water was available.

That day train couldn't move after Kharagpur Railway station a single inch due to non supply of power in entire eastern India. All trains ahead of us were standerd in different stations for the same reason. Anyways the train rolled out after restoration of power. As our train moved like EMU local trains stranded in all stations in front of us, the two hours journey become 4 hours journey. Altogether we were delayed to reach Howrah Station by six hours including detention time of four hours at Kharagpur station. I reached home next day early morning.

Among all my bad journeys that was my worst traveling experience. Next Day from newspaper I came to know that it was grid failure.

However that days bad experience helped me writing the post. Hope no one faces such situation in life.

Dhauli_Express_(Howrah_-_Puri)_route_map.pngWikipedia

Before I conclude I would like to invite three fellow Steemians to participate in the contest. @crismenia @joymm @eveetim.

Thank you for reading my post.
@impersonal

Sort:  
 2 months ago 

Hi friend.. Nice entry, wish you success in the dynamic

 2 months ago 

Thank you for visiting my post and good wishes.

 2 months ago 

Hello traveler! 👋🏼impersonal, that sounds like a bad trip due to power failure but I have seen worse than that, especially in Bihar and all eastern sectors. I have had bad experiences in Assam when the Nalities used to damage the bridges and make life heck.

Thanks for sharing your post in the TS Community. Here are the feedback and evaluation results:


AI/Plagiarism free☑️
Steemexclusive☑️
Club100☑️
Free bots☑️
Voting CSI > 5☑️
Score9/10

~ Join the Discord server + Telegram group and have a happy day.👍🏼



Curated by @dove11

 2 months ago 

THANK YOU FOR ASSESSING MY POST AND FEEDBACK. YES ALSO HEARD OF SIMILAR INCIDENTS IN THE NAXALITES and maoist AREAS.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44