The Diarygame || Travel Diary: Church of Santa Maria presso San Satiro–– | Sunday, August 25

in Traveling Steemlast month


IMG_2754.jpg


Dear Traveling Steemit friends,
today, I want to share an experience that truly enriched my day. I had just gotten off at the Duomo stop in Milan when I noticed an elderly man who needed help getting off the tram. As I assisted him, he smiled and asked, "Have you ever seen the most beautiful church in Milan? You know, it was designed by Bramante, and it's a bit hidden, but it's right behind here. Come, I'll show you something magical."


IMG_2559.jpg


Following his advice, I discovered the Church of Santa Maria presso San Satiro, a hidden gem in the heart of Milan. From the outside, this small church is almost unnoticed, surrounded by shops and the chaos of Via Torino. Nothing flashy, nothing that draws attention. But, upon entering, everything changes.


IMG_2519.jpg

IMG_2527.jpg

.

The first thing that immediately catches the eye is the altar, a masterpiece of architectural ingenuity. Due to the limited space available for construction, architect Donato Bramante created a work of art known as a trompe-l'œil. With only 90 centimeters of depth available, Bramante created the illusion of a deep and spacious apse using a deceptive pictorial perspective that makes the altar appear much deeper than it actually is. This is one of the earliest and most famous examples of this technique in Renaissance architecture Art-Facts Nexus Network Journal


IMG_2546.jpg

IMG_2543.jpg

.

Inside the church, beyond the stunning perspective illusion, there is also a touching depiction of the Crucifixion, adding another layer of sanctity and art to this small but powerful space of worship.

This fortuitous encounter with the elderly gentleman not only led me to discover a hidden corner of Milan but also reminded me of how rewarding it can be to help others. In this case, my day was brightened twice: first by the joy of helping someone and then by discovering this architectural treasure. Sometimes, it only takes a small gesture to discover something truly special.

For those interested in learning more, here are some useful references to better understand the Church of Santa Maria presso San Satiro:


Wikipedia
Art-Facts


Tip: Trompe-l'œil is an art technique that creates the optical illusion of three-dimensionality on a two-dimensional surface. The term is French for "deceive the eye." This technique uses perspective, light, and shadow to make painted objects or architectural elements appear as if they are real and protruding from the surface or that limited spaces are deeper than they actually are. Trompe-l'œil has been widely used in Renaissance and Baroque art to enhance realism and depth in paintings and architecture.


Dear friends, that’s all for now. I hope you found my journey through the hidden gem of Santa Maria presso San Satiro in Milan as fascinating as I did. Stay tuned—tomorrow, I’ll be exploring more of Milan’s architectural marvels, uncovering the stories and secrets behind each unique site. Do you know the Teatro alla Scala? It will be my next stop. Stay connected to discover more!


Thanks for reading @ibesso

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

"😊 What a wonderful story! I love how you stumbled upon this hidden gem in Milan, thanks to a kind stranger's advice 🙏. The church of Santa Maria presso San Satiro is truly breathtaking, and the trompe-l'œil technique used by Bramante is mind-blowing! 💥 Did you know that there are many other churches and buildings in Italy that use this same technique? I'd love to hear more about your travels and experiences with Steemit friends! 🤗"

I also gave you a 0.28% upvote for the delegations you have made to us. Increase your delegations to get more valuable upvotes. Cheers! 🎉

Help Us Secure the Blockchain for You

Your vote matters! Support strong governance and secure operations by voting for our witnesses:

Get Involved

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @scilwa, which is a curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community. We can also be found on our hive community & peakd as well as on my Discord Server

Manually curated by @ abiga554
r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Felicitaciones, su publication ha sido votado por @scilwa. También puedo ser encontrado en nuestra comunidad de colmena y Peakd así como en mi servidor de discordia

 last month 

Thank you, @scilwa, I am grateful to you.


1.gif

TEAM 7

Congratulations, your post has been successfully curated by Team 7 via @𝐢𝐫𝐚𝐰𝐚𝐧𝐝𝐞𝐝𝐲

 last month 

thanks @𝐢𝐫𝐚𝐰𝐚𝐧𝐝𝐞𝐝𝐲 I'm glad you appreciated my contribution

Loading...
 last month 

From now on you will always be a gentleman and help others and follow them to show you something. Cool discovery, to me the outside looks great and I would stand still to study it. I am not from the bling bling .

Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60814.66
ETH 2400.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60