SEC-S18W4 | My worst holiday travel memory

in Traveling Steem7 days ago

Steem greetings all the way from the motherland-Cameroon to fellow travelers, and welcome to my blog as I share my thoughts about the topic “My worst holiday travel memory”.

IMG_2278.jpeg
Image designed on Canva.

As travelers we often encounter some bad moments that almost ruined everything but we got to keep moving. I had experience several worst travel memories and today I’m here to share one.

When was your worst trip that you would like to forget?


One of my worst trips I would like to forget was in December 2015 from South Africa to Cameroon. It was during the Christmas break and I could remember when I finished my exams at UJ Kingsway campus. The joy in me to go home for Christmas break was something no one could explain.

IMG_2284.jpeg
Myself on campus about going home

I was to travel with my elder sister and she has been 5 years out of the country and the luggages were so much. Our check in was at 1:00 PM at OR Tambo International airport. We left the house so early to catch up with the checking in process.

IMG_2281.jpeg
At OR Tambo International Airport.

What problems have you faced and who was with you?


As I earlier said we had 13 luggages to check in and with SAA airline at that time we were supposed to travel with our normal 2 23kg and 10kg hand luggage, and also allow to pay extra for 4 23kgs. So, in total the two of us were supposed to travel with 12 luggages and not 13.

When we arrived at 10:00 AM, we did all the necessary weighing of our luggages and paid for the extra luggages but the 13 luggage was left out. My sister saw one of her friends from a conference in South Africa going home in the same plane with no luggages. She quickly discussed with him and he checked in the 13th luggage.

My sister instead of her to come let’s us sort out our tax receipts for refund before leaving out of the airport, she stood with the friend and was discussing.

I was so angry and went to her and asked her if she was watching the time. She noticed we were already running out of time and we hurriedly went to the tax office to declare our tax receipts for refund. Because we were late, the queue there was unbearable and I asked her we should forget about the tax and go because time is already catching up on us. She got angry and shouted at me and I stayed there on the queue till it was my turn. They collected all the receipts and asked us to go that they will fax a credit card that I will use to get back my money $59.

By the time we arrived at the gate to check in the plane, it was closed and we were late. We pleaded to no avail and our luggages were checked in already.

How you managed this situation in the end?


I burst into tears and to think that because of little $59 of tax refund, I now have to pay a penalty of $100 to reschedule for another flight. We were taken by one airport staff and went to the transit site and handed us to another staff.

Initially, the woman acted as if she was helping us little did my sister knew she was trying to extort money from us. She felt sorry for us and told us that we could checkout all our luggages and booked for another flight or we stay at the transit for 3 days for the next available flight.

We had no choice but to stay at the transit for 3 days. During these three days it was weekend and the airport staff who was a black South African woman told my sister that she is supposed to give her R9000 for her to help us rebooked another flight. When my sister told me, I started suspecting the woman and she said we should not discuss about it to any of her colleagues but wait for her to return after the weekend.

During weekend when she was not on seat, a white South African lady was on seat and I decided to go meet her and discuss the issue with her. When I discussed it with her, she checked the system and noticed the black South African lady wanted to scam us. She was so angry and immediately reported the incident to the boss. She helped us canceled the rebooking and placed us on the next available flight with no penalties because it was the tax office that delayed our flight as we checked in on time.

Share photos of this travel memory or give some referential pics.


The pictures of this trip I lost them in my blackberry Z10 in 2016 as the phone got bad and I do not have the habit of repairing electronics. I do not trust phone repairers and I always prefer to buy a new phone.

I have come to the end of my presentation and I will invite @majerius, @saxopedia and @eliany to share those worst travel memories with us.

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 7 days ago 

Hello traveler! 👋🏼

Thanks for sharing your post in the TS Community. Here you are the feedback and evaluation results:


AI/Plagiarism free☑️
Steemexclusive☑️
Club5050☑️
Free bots☑️
Voting CSI > 12.8☑️

~ Join the Discord server + Telegram group and have a happy day.👍🏼



Curated by @benoitblanc

 3 days ago 

Thank you for the time reading through my content and giving positive feedback.

 7 days ago 

Saludos amiga que momento más desesperante pasaste en ese momento por haber perdido el viaje solo por reclamar los impuestos y después casi que las extorsiona una misma empleada de la aerolínea la gente no descatima para ver cómo se puede aprovechar de los más necesitados por suerte se toparon con una mujer muy honesta y no tuvieron que pagar nada extra

 3 days ago 

It was the worst holiday trip I will never forget in a hurry. Thank God for the honest coworker who assisted us.

TEAM 7
Congratulations! Your post has been upvoted through steemcurator09.

Curated by : @mvchacin

 3 days ago 

Appreciate your support @mvchacin and team 7.

 6 days ago 

Que situación tan desagradable la que vivieron, por eso se pierde la confianza en este tipo de personas, que quieren abusar de su empleo, para estafar a los clientes.

 3 days ago 

Exactly my friend, it is difficult to trust people nowadays because they only look for opportunities to exploit you.

 6 days ago 

You had to suffer a lot for your flight. Due to delay, your journey got postponed. After this, there was a little argument between you two sisters. You encountered a woman who wanted to extort money from you. But due to your foresight, she failed.

 3 days ago 

It was a horrible three days sleeping on benches at the transit center and eating junk food with no proper baths.

 5 days ago 

So sorry about what you ladies went through.. hope your big sis later apologized to you for making you both miss the flight because she also contributed a whole lot… by wasting time!!

Thank God the lady that wanted to scam you ladies was caught. But while you ladies were in SA, what happened to your luggage’s that was already checked in?

 3 days ago 

We could not checkout the luggages because it should have cost us more money wasted. After the three days at the transit, we were connected to the next available flight and we arrived safely with all our luggages. Thank you for the support.

 4 days ago 

Dear friend, I could have imagined how you felt at that moment, imagine the inconveniences of staying three unplanned days at the airport, the money you guys lost and at the same time someone wanted to scam you guys. Thank God guys found someone who helped you out.

 3 days ago 

Three horrible days spent at transit eating junk foods and with no proper baths. Saying inconveniences encountered is an understatement😞.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65128.13
ETH 3549.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48