SEC S10W2: How do you plan to do your home shopping?

in Comunidad Latinalast year



My home shopping designed with Canva

Times change, and so does shopping.

Many moons ago, I had an Elsie. She was our domestic worker. The one who knew my kitchen from A to Z. I was spoiled. Each week Elsie would draw up a shopping list of what was needed for the household, and at the end of the month she would do a full stock taking.

Many moons ago, I had a Spoon. He was our driver at our business. The one we could send from A to Z. I was spoiled. Each week, Spoon would collect the shopping list from Elsie and also the brochures with the weekly specials from the various supermarkets, mark what was needed, and bring it to me for my approval.

Between the two of them, they will do the shopping, the carrying of the shopping bags out of the car, and the unpacking.

My shopping

With the moon these days, I only have myself. I am the "house executive." The one who knows the kitchen from A to Z and the one who does the driving from A to Z. I am no longer spoiled.

✍🏻 I make the shopping list
📧 I look for those bargains
🛒I do the shopping
🛍️ carry the shopping bags out of the car
🏚️ I do the unpacking

Shopping for the house starts with that "what to buy" list.
You will always find a book and a pen in my kitchen. Oh yah, the men know that if I cannot find my pen, they will do the next round of shopping.
As I take the last of an item out of the pantry or use the last of what is in the fridge or freezer, I will add it to the shopping list.

I don’t like shopping, so I make sure that I don’t have to go shopping every day. I do three types of shopping;

  1. Beginning of the week
  2. End of the week
  3. Bulk shopping

Beginning of the week

I like buying fresh milk and bread at the beginning of the week. I also like to plan our meals and lunch boxes for the week and check what I have in stock and what I need to buy. What is needed gets added to my shopping list.
This shopping normally happens on a Monday or Tuesday at my nearest supermarket, depending on whether I need something urgently.

End of the week

This is when I buy fresh milk and bread for the weekend, and those items are on my shopping list. Again, I plan ahead for what I will be cooking and how I will spoil my family over the weekend.

What is needed is added to my shopping list, and shopping normally happens on a Friday and again at my nearest supermarket.


Bulk shopping

Food and household items got so expensive that I liked to buy in bulk when there were special prices on bulk shopping. Bulk shopping normally happens once a month, and it will be either from the supermarket where I normally shop during the week or from a wholesaler called Makro, which is not in our town but is located near the town where we attend church on Sundays. These items are normally cleaning materials, toiletries, etc.

My favorite supermarket

What makes my weekly shopping nice is that not only do I shop at my favorite supermarket, Checkers, but it is also the nearest supermarket, and it is also on my way to my stepson’s school. There is no extra riding and no extra gasoline cost.



Name: Checkers Salt Rock
Google location

Checkers started an Extra Savings program not so long ago, with the result that shopping from them is not only convenient and a pleasant shopping experience, but it is also a saving.
Once a week, I will get an email from them with the weekly deals as well as the amount I have saved to date.

image.png

I will compare my shopping list to the specials and mark them so that I know what to buy. Next, I will rewrite my shopping list so that it is in the order of the isles. This makes shopping so much easier. I have also seen that by doing this, I miss those aisles that are "no go". Those forbidden items that not only look and taste so good but also cost so much. It's just a pity that those items are often repeated at the check-out points.

image.png

I got clever. I will allow myself just enough time to do the shopping before I have to pick up my stepson from school. This means that I don’t have time to "browse" around, plus I have someone who can take the packets out of the car. I also make sure that I don't shop with him after school, as there is always something not on that list that lands up in the shopping trolley.

"Must have" items

There are a few items that I call "must have" items, and if I don’t have them, I will either have them delivered or make that extra trip to get them.



  • Coffee, tea, milk, and sugar, as we LOVE them
  • Milo for those night cups
  • Bread for the lunch boxes
  • Mini packets of chips and chocolate bars for the men in my life, as every work and school day they get these items in their lunch boxes. I think they will fire me as an "executive housewife" if they must open their lunch boxes and it is not there.

How much do I spend?

The beginning of the week is normally when I buy the least amount of stuff, and therefore it also costs me the least. Whereby my end of the week is more expensive

Type of shoppingSA RandSTEEM
Beginning of the week+/- R 500175,146
End of the week+/- R 1,500525,439
Bulk shopping+/- R 2,000700,586
Total shopping per week+/-R 2,000700,586
Total shopping per month+/- R 10,0003502,930
Note: This does include cleaning materials for the self- catering unit also

That brings me to a statement from the original contest post;

Shopping for the home is a great responsibility, many times we have to do the impossible to be able to buy the things we need.

Truer words there cannot be.

As a responsible shopper, you have to spend the money you have allocated for household shopping in the right manner.
As a magician, you have to do the impossible with the possible.

I have learned that you must be brave when you go shopping!

Happy shopping, everybody!


image.png

I invite: @bela90 @waqarahmadshah @sofian88
And those how invited me: @max-pro @sushanta83 @mrdani12 @solperez @bongk

Account summary:
Club100
Transfer to vesting: 1,833.823 STEEM
Normal transfer: 42 STEEM (Contest and charity)

  • All photos are my own
Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available.
Sort:  
 last year 

Nice one friend you really gave us a detail of how you do your shopping by giving us a step by step process of what you do before you go out shopping and after you shop. Your must have items too are mostly snacks for the men in your life and beverages for you 😅 and don’t worry no one’s gonna fire you if you are not able get them during difficult circumstances and I don’t think you’ll be having those circumstances ever.
Thanks for sharing friend it’s a pleasure seeing into your shopping life.

 last year 

I agree with you; they will not fire me;

They love me too much.
They love their coffee too much, and I am the one making them

Thanks for the visit and the great engagement.
Shopping, no matter where in the world you are, is just so difficult these days. Goods are just getting more expensive with each passing day.

TEAM 5 CURATORS

This post has been upvoted through steemcurator08. We support quality posts anywhere and with any tags. Curated by: @irawandedy

 last year 

Thanks so much I wasn’t expecting this @irawandedy this is remarkable

 last year 

Tienes mucha razon amiga realizar las compras del hogar requiere de mucha responsabilidad, porque debemos comprar todo lo necesario y que no falte nada, en mi caso debo hacer es milagro porque el dinero no alcanza y la inflación cada dia es peor, aca en mi país tambien realizaba compras en Makro, pero eran otros tiempos en estos momentos es imposible suerte en tu participación

 last year 

Oh wow! You also have a Makro.
Even here in South Africa, we can feel the pressure. A big problem is also the high interest rates.
Just this morning, they were saying over the news that 4,7 million young people are unemployed. It is terrible!
If there is no work, there is no money for household goods.

You've summed it up perfectly: shopping for the home is indeed a great responsibility. We have to be brave and make the most of our allocated budget. It's like performing magic, finding ways to make everything fit and still have some savings left.

PS: Thanks for the mention. I wish you the best of luck in the contest! 😊

 last year 

Thanks for the visit and the engagement.
Best of all, shopping is only part of it. You also have to plan and execute according to your budget. It is like running your own little business these days. Never a boring moment.
I suppose we will survive. Our parents did it more than once. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Loading...

Congratulations! A 100% upvote from @steemkidss, the official account of steem kids and parents community have been given to this active post as a winner of my week one picture contest. Keep participating and keep winning

 last year 

Awh thank you!!!
It is appreciated! 🎕

Hello my friends
Thanks for sharing with us about the economic activities and transactions you do while shopping and showing the items and their prices.

And what I like the most is the nickname "house executive" for those of us who play an Hello friends
Thank you for sharing with us about the economic activities and transactions you make while shopping and indicating the items and their prices.

And what I like the most is the nickname "home executive" for those of us who take full responsibility for shopping at home. The nick name is Very cool ahaha...

 last year 

Ah! You found my post!
Thank you for the visit and the engagement. 🎕
"house executive" At least we can also have a "career" linked to our names.
Wishing you an awesome week!

With all my pleasure..

Thank you very much for your interest in shopping with us.Many thanks for sharing with us.

 last year 

It is for me to say thank you for the visit and the engagement. ☕

A tip from me, if you comment on post try and make it no less than 30 - 50 words and make it relevant to the post as curators also vote on comments. They look for good quality comments.
Getting votes on comments can help with building your account.

You can track your engagement activity with;
https://steemseven.com/seven/

 last year 

With great emotion we notify you that this article has been curated by @malikusman1, member of team #2. Your content is amazing, keep working hard to opt for the weekly top.

Voting date: 16/06/2023

image.png

 last year 

Excelente publicación. Súper completa, con estrategias incluidas para hallar quién cargue con las bolsas, jeje

Me encantó esta frase:

Como mago, tienes que hacer lo imposible con lo posible.

 last year 

It is for me to say... thank you for the visit and the engagement!

PS: There is always time for a smile (•ิ‿•ิ)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56160.19
ETH 2367.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31