Overcoming fear

in Comunidad Latina2 months ago
Small Business Tips YouTube Thumbnail_20240606_234957_0000.pngdesigned using canva app

"That bridge between your downfall and your success is fear! Nothing in life is to be feared, it only needs to be understood"

Fear is a universal emotion, and there's no doubt that every individual has something that they tend to fear about. Fear is a feeling we have experienced at some point in our lives that has either destroyed us or repaired us.

We, as living individuals, tend to experience a certain type of fear at certain stages of our lives. It could be failure, loss, not being impactful, public speaking, losing morale, etc.

I fall into the category of individuals who are afraid of not making a meaningful impact. I fear that one day I will leave this earth, and what will I be remembered for? I fear that my legacy will end once I'm gone.

When I read about most of the legendaries in my country, I see many things they are remembered for. Some ordinary people in one community or another were impactful during their time, and today, their legacy lives on.

The fear of not being able to leave a positive mark in someone's life or make a difference is something that motivates me to continuously work towards my goals and strive for excellence in everything I do.

IMG_20240606_163700_707.jpgwhen fear grips hold on me
IMG_20240606_163729_821.jpgStill in fear of life
IMG_20240606_163740_096.jpgFear of not being impactful

Naturally, I am not afraid of anything, but an incident that has never happened before in my life happened to me, and I had a phobia for one year.

It was a robbery case where I was attacked and my purse was collected from me at gunpoint. This has never happened to me before; the fear gripped me to the extent that I wasn't able to sleep alone in my room.

When I got home that night, I called a friend on the phone to discuss what had happened and for her to remain on call with me till I'm ready to sleep. I managed to survive for one night, and the next day, I traveled to my family house because I couldn't survive staying alone.

Every night, I picture that incident, and it makes me stay awake all through the night. The fear was so great that I wasn't able to go to work or do anything for myself. Staying at my parents' house helped me, although it took a long time for me to overcome my phobia.

While I was battling with fears, I got engaged in work outside the house so I could get my mind off my fears. While in a discussion with my friend, she narrated a story about how she was attacked by robbers, but she was able to get away with her items freely, and then I began to wonder how I didn't do anything while I was attacked.

I was encouraged to return to my city and start my business. I took it upon myself to reframe my mindset about fear and to see it as an opportunity to be more careful.

If I never had that experience, maybe I wouldn't learn how to be careful while walking, but taking up the bull by the horn was what gave me the courage to overcome my fears.


20231026_101606.jpg

I invite @ruthjoe @nancy0 @mariami

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 2 months ago 

Vivir la experiencia de un atraco es traumático. Uno no logra superalo fácilmente. Pero el tiempo lo cura todo. Como dices, esas experiencias nmos ayudan a estar más atentos.

Loading...

Congratulations!

Your post has been upvoted by @steemladies.
The community where the Steemian ladies can be free to express themselves, be creative, learn from each other, and give support to their fellow lady Steemians.

Manually curated by patjewell for Steem For Ladies

Steem For Ladies

Thank you so much mummy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66426.55
ETH 3459.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62