Steemit Engagement Challenge S12 W4 | In black and white

in Comunidad Latina11 months ago

This article might get a little dark, so read at your discretion.

IMG_20230928_114549.jpg
further edited by me
Source

I know what it's like to be in a dark place, not literally but emotionally, that empty feeling you get when you feel like the whole world is out to get you and no one can be trusted, so you sabotage every string of friendship you have left just so you can wallow in self pity.
No thought came to mind this morning on what to write about until I stumbled upon this contest, I just knew I wouldn't skip it.

I'm going to be writing on Black as you may have already guessed, besides it's my favorite colour.


Black


Is it easy for you to create trust with others?

I used to be so trusting with people until I got stabbed in the back multiple times.
These days, I find myself on the defensive, if you're going to gain my trust, it has to be earned.
It is not easy for me to create trust with other people because at the slightest sign of a red flag (or in this case, black flag), I'll withdraw from the situation.
Bad experiences can create different types of defensive mechanism. I'm trying to work on it now and I would have to say I'm making some progress, howbeit little.

Have the changes and novelties that present themselves in your life ever overwhelmed you?

Lots of times, but you know what they say, what doesn't kill you only makes you stronger. There were times when I couldn't even eat or sleep well.
I had/have the mentality of a 1-man soldier- Me against the world. I would keep my problems to myself trying to find solutions which often led to the overwhelming feeling. You could find me Alone staring into nothingness, speak to me even, but my mind would be somewhere else, wondering, planing.
Sometimes, I just go to my happy place. I read it somewhere once that having such places can help, so I created one for myself where I would go to when I started feeling the load bearing down on me. It wasn't a solution but at least it was a temporary escape.

photo-1471981172431-b1c4155be4b1.jpeg
Source

Are you sensitive to letting yourself be carried away by feelings or are you more logical?

I want to believe I balance both logic and feeling but I'm mostly driven my logic, I'm a deep thinker, I can take something so small and analyse every single detail to come to a conclusion, maybe that's why I excel at my job as I did in class.
Consciously , I often applied this to the friends I had. Logic has proved to be the better option when dealing with such situations.
The last time I allowed feelings pilot the airplane, we crashed real hard. As you'd often hear-

"those who fail to lean from history are doomed to repeat it".
Winston Churchill.

Do you think that help is important or have you always achieved goals by yourself?

This, I learned not to long ago. If you are going to take away something from my write up on this topic, then it should be this.
Being a lone-wolf wouldn't get you as far as you'd like to go. Just as a wolf who often attacks a prey with it's pack is more likely to be successful, so also will you if you learn to work with others. This is evident on Steemit, building good relationships with people you may not have met before. This is the true concept of growth. It's important that you also work on your end to be successful through hardwork, and through prayers.
Know that help won't just appear on your doorstep unless you strive towards it.

Lesson

It might be dark now but I'm assured of a light at the end of this tunnel.

photo-1530840197133-665af68f9d71.jpeg
Source

I want to invite @jayjay42, @goodybest and @nessuccy5 to also participate in this contest.

Sort:  
Loading...

This post has been upvoted through -Steemcurator09.


Team Newcomer- Curation Guidelines For Septembert 2023 Curated by - @radjasalman

Note:

We invite all newcomers from 0 to 3 months of existence in steemit to use hashtags #newcomer and #country.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59358.13
ETH 2471.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45