CONTEST: HANDICRAFTS . Time to show ingenuity (100% POWERED UPsteemCreated with Sketch.

in SteemWomen Club3 years ago (edited)

INTRODUCTION

Hello great women of our time. It's so pleasurable to participate in this contest. The past weeks I haven't been making entries but I am this time and onwards. I want to appreciate the iniators of this community and contests to constantly keep us women together. You're a great.

At this point I will be making my entry to the contest and it on a home accessory made out of beads. I have been involved in making beaded items for about 5 years now and each day I learn a new thing on it. Seeing this contest I made a beautiful flower jar last night for my entry. Just follow the steps below keenly

IMG_20210208_213424.jpg

HOW TO MAKE A FLOWER JAR
In making a jar you must first think of the type of jar and design you will use. Also you should think of the purpose it will serve. This will help you to know the mathematics you will use. Beads making involves using a series of 4 and 6 (most used formula) at time you can use 5 or 7 and in this case we will use all to bring out the shape we want. Using the normal formula will give a normal jar but a mixture of all will give us a shape of a calabash. Let's see how to make it

Materials
• Size 24 green and white oval beads
• Scissors
• Size 90 or 100 twine
•A plate to pour the beads inside and work

IMG_20210207_223856.jpg
scissors

IMG_20210207_183953.jpg Size 90 twine

IMG_20210207_183810.jpg Green beads

IMG_20210207_183750.jpg White beads

Procedure
• Cut your twine to the length you want using a scissors

IMG_20210207_184015.jpg my cut twine

• Put 6 beads (the color depends on you but I will begin with green) and cross with the last bead making it in an oval shape. This makes line 1.

IMG_20210207_185401.jpg

• For the next line (line 2) we are going to be making a series of 5 beads per circle.
• Using one twine head we put 4 beads crossing on the 4th one. Assuming the one you crossed makes the last bead for the other line and the first bead for the next line or series of beads( remember to keep this in mind all through).
So you will continue with the next one, by first passing the twine in one bead and adding three to the other side of the twine since we have the lastly crossed bead.

You continue till the line ends. To end you will have the lastly crossed bead, the one you pass the twine inside and the first bead of the line( this particular bead is important because if you miss passing the twine here to end you will have a different shape which will not be good.

IMG_20210207_190556.jpg

• Line 3 you still so a series of 5 beads just like the previous line

IMG_20210207_195151.jpg

• Line 4, use a series of 6 beads, but this time you pass in two beads instead of 1. From the beginning you will pass one twine head into a bead and add 4 beads to make 6 beads in that circle. Continue by adding 3 beads. So you will have 3 beads then you add 3 to make six to the end and you end just like before. This line makes its fold upwards, looking like a cut calabash or a bowl.

IMG_20210207_201456.jpg

• Line 5 you will use both 5 and 6 beads while still passing the twine in two beads after crossing the last bead. This line now I Sue my white beads to change it's look making it more beautiful.

IMG_20210207_205601.jpg

Assuming you have 12 beads to pass in which using 2 gives a circle of 6. So now we have 6 circles what you do is circle 1 you make it 6, circle 2 you make it 5 beads, then you continue to the end of the line. This is to make it fold inwards not outwards again.

• Line 6 you use 7 series passing in 3 beads. This further makes it fold inwards
• Line 7 use series of 5 beads while passing the twine in 1 bead

• Line 8 and 9 use 4 series while passing the twine head in 1 bead

IMG_20210207_223703.jpg

• Line 10 use a series of 5.

IMG_20210208_213424.jpg final product

You can make the jar as big as you want and the length you want. But don't forget the calculation at each line. Remember you begin the base with an even number not an odd number.

Here are also some of my recently made beaded items

Slippers and sandals
IMG_20201129_210006.jpg

Fruit basket
IMG_20201129_205505.jpg

FB_IMG_1612471919972.jpg

Table mats
FB_IMG_1612471926827.jpg

FB_IMG_1612471912978.jpg

Flower jars
IMG_20201129_205559.jpg

IMG_20201117_072926.jpg

IMG_20201129_205254.jpg

Bags and purse
IMG_20201129_205155.jpg

Here is my submission for the contest. Thank you @steemwomenclub for this opportunity

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

What a beautiful handicrafts with beads a beautiful job, you do amazing things and I like the sandals very much greetings.

what a beautiful handicrafts with beads a beautiful job, you do amazing things and i like the sandals very much greetings.

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much for your encouragement. I do have other beautiful things I want to prepare for an exhibition next week. I will definitely share with you all. My regards
#twopercent #cameroon

 3 years ago 

Amazing handicrafts. I feel intimidated by this. I have learned something today. Thank you for sharing your creative work with us. I will make my entry soon. @tenguhatanga

#affable

 3 years ago 

Thank you momma but why are you intimidated? I know you make great stuff than this please teach us your hidden skills. I'm anxiously waiting .

#twopercent #cameroon

 3 years ago 

Haha, I am oo, you are too much

hi @tenguhatanga I have confirmed your contest entry. Wow you made beautiful jar with beads. And you have more good works. You are very resourceful. You tried very hard and it was very nice. As women, we can do any job. I was happy that you wrote in detail. Thank you very much for participating in the contest. Our motto is we are strong together. Keep making quality posts in the community. Good luck :)

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much for your encouragement and accepting my entry for the contest. I'm so grateful and wish this community more success in the future. And for sure we can only be strong by working and staying together
#twopercent #cameroon

The art crafts are awesome and beautiful.
I do watch a friend while she make beads, the thing is not easy, body pain, and so on.

Work is work

 3 years ago 

Thank you my friend. For sure there's a lot of body constraints when making beads. Before I never use to have back ache but I do. It's not easy
Thanks for visiting my post
#twopercent #cameroon

Wow!!! You so skilled @tenguhatanga and I will endure I follow the procedure if I want to praticalize it

 3 years ago 

Thank you @fluzzy. For sure if you want more knowledge you can contact me on WhatsApp let talk it out and do it. Here's my number +237676274062
#twopercent #cameroon

@tenguhatanga your handicrafts are awesome. Having learnt beadmaking at one point in my life, I can say that it requires both patience and mental energy. Your practicality in writing a step by step explanation for each process is commendable. More power!
#nigeria

 3 years ago 

Thank you my dear @chinma. You are right , beads making needs a lot of patience and energy. You don't hurry in this art because a single mistake destroys the work. I really love making it with a lot of passion
#twopercent #cameroon

What a beautiful job, I love everything, especially the handbags, I love them.
#onepercent #venezuela

 3 years ago 

Thank you for visiting and enjoying my post @marito74. They are really beautiful and I always look at them and smile always.
#twopercent #cameroon

Saludos @tenguhatanga tienes talento y paciencia además de creatividad para hacer estás bellezas con perlas. Éxitos en el concurso 🤗

#venezuela #steeemwomenclub

 3 years ago 

Thank you @alicargofer for your kind words and wishes. Beads making needs a lot of time and patience to bring out the beauty you want. Thanks for visiting my post
#twopercent #cameroon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00