STEEM WOMEN CLUB COMMUNITY: Chain Of Goodness Event| SAY NO TO CHILD LABOR

in SteemWomen Club3 years ago

Hello To all member of this beautiful community.

Today i read about CHAIN OF GOODNESS EVENT and decided to share one of my experince which i had in Lockdown.

First of all, let me tell you something about the education system in pakistan. In Pakistan about eight million children are working in different occupations and two third of them are employed full time. The root cause of child labor is extreme poverty which forces the parents to employ their children for some extra money for daily living.

image.pngSource

I am studying BS(CS)in Lahore but because of Covid-19, there is lockdown everywhere. All the institute are closed and i came back to my home from hostel in march 2020. I actually live in an area where the poverty is at its peak and most of the parents make their children to go to work instead of school. So, when government applied lockdown in march 2020, I came back to my home, and started giving tuition to the poor children of my area for free. firstly in had to do a lot of work to forced the parent to sent them in my tuition center so that they would be able to learn the basics.

I personally went to many houses and convinced them because i saw a potential in those children and i know that they would learn a lot in this short time. As all the working sites and factories where those children went to earn were also closed so most of the parents agreed to sent the boys of their home but not girls. It also was a second challenge for me.

They were thinking that the girls are no need to study as they will be married and go to their home one day. And the next thing was they would sent their children. it will be my duty to supplies them with stationary, sheets and books etc. I asked to my elder brother who live in Saudia Arab, told him whole situation and requested him to sent me some money. he was agreed to send me 5000 rupees per month. that was enough for me

I decided that i would teach their boys first for 1 to 2 weeks and then i will request them to sent their girls too.
Although, after 13 days of my struggle, some boys were their in my tuition center. I Counted the children. They were 13. I sent my younger brother to bought some sheet papers and pencils for them. At that time, i didn't think of sharing this story to anybody, so i didn't took much photos. Next day i went to bazaar and bought a mat, some basic ABC and Counting books and masks for all of them.

WhatsApp Image 2021-04-04 at 5.15.33 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-04-04 at 5.11.28 PM.jpegIt was energy consuming task for me as they all were about 7 year old punjabi speakers and none of them even know to write his name. I started from very basic.

I teached them ABC, Counting in 20 days. Then i called the parents of all of them and requested them to sent their girls too just for 2 hour. Many of them said no but some of them were agreed to sent their daughters.

So next day their were total 21 students their, 13 boys and 8 girls. I bought more stationary for new comers. I daily teached the boys for 4 hours and the girls for 2 hours. In very short time, they all learnt alot. I felt very happy while seeing them. Later on many other students joint my tuition center too. Now there are total 33 member in our family.

All they come till now but for selective days as they need to go to work in other days to earn. But they have learnt the basic now. I have teached them how to talk to some and built confidence in them.

Now I am trying to teach them basic english and our journey is continue.

i cannot share the picture of those students as all belong to conservative families and their parent don't allow me to put their child's pictures on any social sites.

I want to say thanks to my family who supported me alot in this journey and all those people who agreed to sent their children to me.

Support me to say No to Child Labor

Special Mention

@steemitblog

@steemcurator01

@steemcurator02 @steemcurator05

@steemitwomenclub

@cryptokannon



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66565.59
ETH 3503.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72