STEEM WOMEN CLUB "Chain of Goodness Event" || Feeding Children in Olango Island

in SteemWomen Club3 years ago

"Ah, kindness. What a simple way to tell another struggling soul that there is love to be found in the world."~ A.A. Malee

Hello to all beautiful men and women of this wonderful community!!! Greetings of love and hope from the Philippines 🇵🇭

IMG_20210403_145820.jpg

We are all rays of light and hope. I believe that we are all sunshine in each other's lives. Being a part of this community of SteemWomen Club has blessed me and my family with so much blessings that I could give back to each person around me. To be in this community of inspiration, of helping other people whenever, wherever and however and just simply being a ray of hope in a person's life is truly one of the most amazing experience I've ever had my entire life.

IMG_20210403_151727.jpg
Juan, a 5-yr. old kid, with a bright smile upon receiving his food in front of their house

Since it's a long weekend here in the Philippines because of the Holy Week celebrated by us, Roman Catholics, me and my husband @hulyootso were able to visit his hometown in Olango Island. Aside from having a long break from the usual busy life in school, we also have in mind that we are going to share our blessings to the children in the island.

IMG_20210403_151705.jpg
Juan's house

IMG_20210403_121926.jpg
Juan and his siblings, Vincent and Bebe. The first three to arrive for the feeding, asking when the feeding starts, this was taken early in the morning

Poverty and malnutrition is very rampant in the island. Children are underweight, malnourished and with no proper food because of the meager income of their family. Some of these kids just sleep in hunger with no food to eat on the table because some of their parents are unemployed, while some parents just get their food from the sea (that is if the weather is fine), catching fish, gathering shellfish, seaweeds and sea urchins.

Today, we decided with my husband @hulyootso together with his sisters @rowena86 and @jackilyn and with the help of Mama Lumen and Papa Isko that we are going to feed these malnourished children in the neighborhood.

PhotoGrid_1617442924113.jpg
These are some of the houses of the children in the neighborhood

Together with my husband and this li'l buddy, our nephew Kyrone, we went to the grocery store to buy our ingredients for our feeding activity. We bought 2 kilos of spaghetti pasta, 2 kilos of spaghetti sauce, hotdogs, cheese, ground pork, condensed milk, spices, bread, juice powder, paper plates, plastic cups and forks.

IMG_20210403_085343.jpg
Me and my husband with our nephew, Kyrone buying our ingredients from a nearby grocery

With the help of my family, we were able to cook the spaghetti, plated them with bread and served the children with some orange juice. These are some of our pictures while preparing the food ready to be served to the children.

IMG_20210403_144049.jpg

IMG_20210403_144947.jpg

IMG_20210403_145148.jpg

IMG_20210403_145551.jpg

After everything is set and ready, we called all the children in the neighborhood who are just waiting for our signal to line up for our distribution. Their faces and smiles all describe the excitement for the simple food that we prepared for them.

IMG_20210403_145831.jpg

IMG_20210403_145820.jpg

IMG_20210403_150055.jpg

IMG_20210403_145956.jpg

One by one they were each given plates with the spaghetti and bread and a cup of juice. We let them stay at my parents' kubo or lantay or nipa hut, where they could eat and enjoy their food. The place was full of laughter and excitement. I could feel these little kids and it hits something in me, that even if my help is just so little, their faces just light up and they just smile with their every bite. How I really wish I could be of help to them everyday, that I will be able to share my everyday blessings with them. And in my heart, I could only say a little prayer: I pray that there are angels everyday that could help them in any way and as well as their parents.

IMG_20210403_150525.jpg

IMG_20210403_150302.jpg

IMG_20210403_150235.jpg

IMG_20210403_150517.jpg

IMG_20210403_150306.jpg

It was such a very heartwarming experience, but at the same time, it saddens me that I could not be there always to help them. It makes me sad why there are a lot of hungry children all over the world. But it also gives me hope, I know, there are a lot of kind and generous people everywhere that will be God's instrument in helping these little kids.

IMG_20210403_145332.jpg
With my family helping me out for our feeding program with the kids

This feeding activity will definitely be the first of the many feeding programs that we are going to do with my family. We talked with my husband and her sisters, they are all willing to help me for our next feeding activity hopefully and with God's grace, we can do it again next week.

"Wherever there is a human in need, there is an opportunity for kindness and to make a difference." ~Kevin Heath


All my heart and biggest thanks to @steemwomensclub for giving me the chance to share my stories in this wonderful and very inspiring community of hope, love and empathy, the STEEMWOMEN CLUB and most especially to @steemcurator01 @steemcurator02 @steemcurator06 @steemitblog @cryptokannon for always being kind supporting me. From the bottom, thank you so much. Maraming salamat po 🇵🇭🇵🇭🇵🇭

All my love,
Rose

cyxkEVqiiLy2ofdgrJNxeZC3WCHPBwR7MjUDzY4kBNr81Lv5GaqnCKyjhbaXDXF6btafyu2DMNkxJRWBbJHad5F57zAj7eGwfFgpy9mw8yu3xKgve14NES21nKSrTYBQsyQ.png

Sort:  

Great work, here's an extra upvote to do more like this.

#happysteem

Thank you so much @steemcurator01 for always supporting me, for having a great heart for our Filipino children. Rest assured that I will be using this to help more kids and families in our place. May God bless you a thousand fold.

 3 years ago 

Its a point from above mam, congrats for doing a great job

Salamat kaau mam @kyrie1234

Wow! You are such a blessing to that community. May God bless the desires of your good heart Ma'am.

Thank you so much mam lorns @georgie84 🧡🧡🧡

Te felicito, saludos desde venezuela

Muchas gracias mí amiga. Saludos cordiales desde Filipinas 🇵🇭

Genial eso que haces, gestos muy lindos.😘❤️

Saludos a ti mi amiga. Muchas gracias por el agradecimiento.

 3 years ago 

Those beautiful smiles your kindness made them... you are a blessing mega🥰

Salamat @fabio2614 🧡🧡🧡

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64278.56
ETH 3504.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54