Postpartum depression: How it dealth with mesteemCreated with Sketch.

in SteemWomen Club2 years ago (edited)

Greetings my fellow women @steemwomenclub. I hope everyone is fine and doing great. Today I will blog about an aspect of my postpartum experience; what made me depressed 2weeks postpartum and I manage to overcome it.

What is postpartum depression

Postpartum has to do with your life after giving birth.

Postpartum depression relates to those negative feelings that may arise as a new mom irrespective of whether you are a primi or primipara. Maybe the stress of taking care of a newborn plus your fragile self, the sleepless nights, the hot water bathing or the stress of doing the house chores all by yourself.

Poor lactation can make you feel worthless too.

Sometimes there may be thousands at your beck and call yet you feel so lonely.

Having a Colicky baby can easily lead you on to postpartum depression.

IMG_20211228_170936.jpg
Chizzy the drama boy

Who is a Colicky baby:
Colicky babies are those babies who cry for hours for apparently no reason. Yes, they cry not because they are sick, hungry or wet but because they just want to cry.

These kinds of babies will turn you to a musician, they will make you speak in different tongues and can even make you turn your house to an amusement park but still won't stop crying.

Infants like this look for that slight provocation to tear up.

For example, they may be sleeping on your arm and then you try to put them to bed. Yeah, it's like you just stepped on a landmine. So the next crying episode begins.

All babies cry but not all babies have colic. If your little one cries for more than three straight hours on a regular basis, then you can say that he/she has colic.

Some people will say that the infant is having a stomach upset and will start introducing some infant drops like gripe water or infacol. From Experience I will say that this drug is very much effective on infants without Colic, yes what this drug does is to trap air and helps relieve stomach discomfort. On the other hand, a Colicky baby will cry for more than 3hrs simply because he/she just farted, poo or needs to sleep.

Treatment of Colic

Like they say time heals all wounds. With time also, babies will outgrow this phase. This improvement is evident from 4months of ages and gets better as they grow. Before the child hits 6months you will have a completely happy baby, that can now genuienly smile back at you.
Note:Babies with Colicky may have difficulty sleeping and are very sensitive to noise.

IMG_20220220_183339.jpg
Now a happy child

My little experience

I suffered from sleep deprivation, the first time after postpartum that I slept for straight 2hrs without interruption was when my son was 15weeks old at that point I was no longer me.

Trying to pacify a baby that cried non stop made me confused and depressed at the same time. As I kept wondering what I may be doing wrong.

These kind babies stress the hell out of their mothers, this stress leads to poor lactation and may lead you to introduce complementary foods before 6months.

I stopped Exclusive breastfeeding at 3months+ thinking hunger was the problem but no! I was wrong. Chizzy simply wants to keep crying.

IMG_20220219_101636.jpg
Happy we

I thank God for Growth at least he has passed that stage and I am grateful to God almighty that I have gained my peace of mind after 5months postpartum.

How to get over postpartum depression

The best approach is to seek for help, you can't do all the house chores by yourself at this time, so accept help from your loved ones.

Discuss with a trusted confidant

If the feeling of hopelessness is just too overwhelming, consult with your doctor.

Postpartum depression is real. Mothers are really trying. They are priceless.

Here is my introduction post source

4i88GgaV8qiFU89taP2MgKXzwntUGAvkoQiKU7VxyD37q9VnYhrvNyMwnELLsCMm5p8S7mmB4Ma1ZzAETvVGzxv3AVHsXguEDz1raVu6LPShxNH3uQtWWL1LS2.pngsource

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Every woman feels this postpartum depression. I felt it too and this is a kind of reminder to me because it has been more than 13 years. Thank you for this wonderful piece

 2 years ago 

It is not always easy, although I've not experience it before but I normally heard people giving this complains, thank you for taking this to our notice thank you

 2 years ago 

Ive been also to postpartum dear, and I thank God I was able to conquer it. I know you will too.

 2 years ago 

I extremely appreciate your lovely post. Eventhough I didn't get married yet, but I can learn and get a lot of lores from your post. I consider I need those knowledges from your post when I get married and have a baby later

Thank you a billion for sharing a great post, my pretty sister. Wish you best of luck as a new mom.


Anyway, your baby is adorable 💝🥰🤗

 2 years ago 

Hola amiga que bueno que pudiste superarlo y tu bebe sonríe y esta sano, es hermoso ser madre pero muchas veces se nos presentan situaciones difíciles como tu dices lo mejor es buscar ayuda. Gracias por compartir tu experiencia. Esta bello tu bebé 🥰

 2 years ago 

Depression is a terrible thing! Best of all, it sneaks up onto you without you knowing it.
Thank you for sharing all this information and how to deal with it.

 2 years ago 

Ohh sorry dear about the postpartum depression.i think every mother goes through it for weeks,months and a year depending on your baby.

The best approach is to seek for help, you can't do all the house chores by yourself at this time, so accept help from your loved ones.

I am with you on this one because when you have just given birth your body is still weak and wants rest and care.so let in people to help you with chores and the baby.
Glad you are now okey

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68828.89
ETH 3759.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43