Diary game: what seemed to be a normal day turned into a protest. #uniben protests

in SteemWomen Club3 years ago (edited)

Hello ,lovely women of steem women's club.its always a pleasure to share my day's dairy with you. This post is a break down of my very eventful day . The first protest I have experienced in School.

The directors I consider really great have the ability to recognise when something is going in an unexpected direction and see it as a bonus and be able to go with it,as oppose to locking down what they thought was going to happen.

  • susan sarandon

Morning diary

I woke up by 5:30am said my prayers and study God's word till about 7:00am then I went ahead to shower ,had breakfast and finish my school work that was due for submission by 12:00pm so I was in no rush .

i finished the assignments and I was on my way to campus by about 11:15am when I got a call that no class was cancelled,I made some calls and found out that it was because the university students took to the street for a protest.

The aim of the protest is for the school adminstration to look into the new demands by the vice councillor. This demand included
• An extremely short period as opposed to usually time duration was set as the deadline for school fee payments

• if a student failed to meet this deadline a penalty was added.
This penalty was a few thousand more than the total school fee for higher levels and a few thousand short of half the fee for lower levels. (The emphasis is in how close the deadline was for the payment this is usually not the case making it very difficult for a lot of parents and students that worked to sponsor themselves to meet up.)

After i made the calls I went back home dropped my bags to see what was happening on the protest ground .

Student stopped all lecture from holding and locked down any lecture hall that was open for lectures .

Afternoon diary

Students filled the major road in front of the school main gate and stopped car passing . This caused a lot of commotion because this road is a major travel route in the country, therefore travelers had to wait for hours and hours and at the end of the day made very little progress . These travellers had to lounge in hotels around the area in hopes that the next day will be different.

The students where determined to fight for their right and get what the want .

0913dde9ea3e44ae8ff1e19fd54b27d8.jpg

6709484969354d5483bb951e7b20d930.jpg

As it went into the day it got more and more intense as the number of protesters grow by the minute students started chanting at the top of their voice demanding the current vice councillor of the university to address the situation, but no one came.

Evening diary

After hours and hours of waiting ,the was finally a statement by the vice councillor but it was not a plea to stop the protests or addressing the issue the protesters where fighting against. Instead it was a notification to every student in the university about the shut down of the school within less than 24 hours prior notice . the was no consideration about the students that stayed in the campus hostels who had no where to go with in that short time and could not travel back home especially with the prostest going on.

I mean less than 24 hours, it's like coming home after work and your landlord ask you to move out all of a sudden with less than 24hours prior notice .
The was a lot of confusion on what to do next buy the part of the students body that was affected . By the decision to lock down the school

Screenshot_20210914-224049.png

Some students accepted to accommodate their comrades for the time being until the matter is addressed The general students body is still relentless and say that their demands most be looked into ,on the other hand the school body shows no interest on addressing the matter anytime soon(typical Nigeria)

I attended my fellow prayer meeting to pray against any form of volience during this prostrate.
I got back home late I was tried so I took my bath and went to bed immediately .

Conclusion

Thank you for reading and I can't wait to make another diary game to tell you about the protest update

@svm08
@ngoenyi
@Steenwomensclub

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

This is serious. Typical Nigeria method. Clamp down on any issue they're scared of.
But why put the payment deadline so near. I pray noting voilent comes out of it @lisabel60

I pray so too I don't want to stay in one level for 3 years

 3 years ago 

They shouldn't have put deadline, money is not that easy to get. Let everybody be calming down.

Exactly

 3 years ago 

Nigeria will always show themselves no matter where. Sorry that your day was stressful but it was for a greater good.

Amen I pray it works out right

Mhnnn this is serious but thank God it was peaceful and no casualty reported. Please advice your fellow students to stop the protest, so the school authority can look into their demands.

Thank God no casualties
I will making another post on how the prostest is going

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60209.45
ETH 3212.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43